1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

why is my 3dmark score so low

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by xmountainxlionx, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    It seems to my my 3dmark score should by more than this...wait I KNOW it should be more than this, because one time i got it too ~13200. I have actually oced the RAM more since then too.
    Could it be a heat issue?

    Attached Files:

    • why.jpg
      why.jpg
      File size:
      158.4 KB
      Views:
      159
  2. Urizen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that ain't low for 3Dmark06 :wtf:
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If it did, in fact, get lower with a higher ram clock, that means something isn't 100% stable. Either your ram wants more voltage, or if that doesn't work, your NB wants more voltage. Remember, the further you push the ram, the harder the NB has to work, too.
  4. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    i raised the NB voltage .04 and heres what happened...


    edit: sorry i thought it uploaded the first time

    Attached Files:

    • why1.jpg
      why1.jpg
      File size:
      166.2 KB
      Views:
      139
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2008
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I don't see anything?
  6. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    i edited it:toast:
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Definitely a step in the right direction. Adding any more voltage help? And did you try to bump the ram voltage up a notch?
  8. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    ill run some test and post some pics tomorrow, since its getting late here in NC. sound good?
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yep. No probs. See ya tomorrow. lol.
    xmountainxlionx says thanks.
  10. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    well i tried raising the NB votage to 1.33 nothing
    tried raising DRAM voltage .5 nothing
    got the timings down to 55514 @1104mhz still @ 12080

    anyother thoughts? maybe try another driver for my GPU?

    PSU needing more juice?
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    might be the driver the highest in 3dm06 was with 7.9 but its with ati you might want to try an older one, are you on the same one when you got 13k ?
    xmountainxlionx says thanks.
  12. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    im using 7.15.11.6925, had it since 12/11/07. cant remember exact date of 13000 score though.

    try a 7.9?
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    :confused:

    Your 3dmark06 score is very OK for your hardware. :ohwell: Actually, you're getting 13K because of the processor. It's not normal that for a 8800GTS 640 one gets such a high score. One would be expecting a lower score actually.

    Why are you worrying? Have you been comparing? To what?
  14. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    yeah...:eek:

    really i just want to know why it was at 13500 once and the rest of the time it was 12000
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Maybe your proc was oc'd? Same thing for ram? Or maybe you had oc'd your 8800GTS 640MB?

    Or maybe you ran the benchmark using a clean boot?

    Or maybe you had different settings in your nvidia control panel? Like override options for AA? Or supersampling instead of multisampling?
    xmountainxlionx says thanks.
  16. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    i dont know, your right i shouldnt be freaking out about it. ill just leave as it is.
    im pretty sure i have gotten all i can out of what i got. thanks for your help
  17. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Well, I don't want you to give up!

    Go into the nvidia control panel. Make sure if you have AA on there at least turn it to multi sampling. Or turn AA off altogether.

    Otherwise put all global changes to the minimum - no AA, no AF etc etc.....

    Then run 3dmark and see what you get.

    If you still cannot reach 13K marks, go here and follow the instructions
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353

    Then run the benchmark, check your score.

    (It might as well be that you turned your settings up for better graphics in some game, and then those same game settings which you turned globally would be directly affecting your 3dmark06 score).
  18. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    i turned the AA off and got 12887

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page