1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why is my CPU usage always above 95%?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 3991vhtes, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    [​IMG]

    I'm usin limewire, itunes, ie6, and yahoo messenger in the background. I was doin this earlier, and it was only about 40% usage. what could be makin' it do this? Note - I'm not on the pc in my sig.
    455MHz celeron OC from 433
    128MB pc100
    10GB hard drive

    in other words - ToW3RB0y's system I rebuilt :D

    edit- it is goin up and down in % like one second is 4% and the next is 97% etc...
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
  2. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    sounds like you got a distributed computing program on there somehow, such as folding at home
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe cause it's a 455MHz Celeron? :/
    Open the task manager and see what's hogging CPU, I bet it's limewire, damn flash-based programs.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    antivirus?

    limewire doesnt hog system like that i kno i use it :D, speaking of LW anyone want pro?
  5. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    it is limewire, well in a fashion. its java which is the pos but lw needs it to work.

    get rid of it and use torrents.

    edit

    could be av but i would still drop lw.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Limewire blows anyway. Use utorrnet, but make sure you download 1.6.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    The problem is that that pc is way too slow to run just xp, much less any other programs.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,612 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    Slow computer is the problem.
  9. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    for some reason the CPU usage wanted to rise to 100% it's not cause the proc is 433, i was doin the same thing earlier, and it was always at 40-%
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    The only thing I can think of is that Limewire was downloading a lot at that time or antivirus was updating?? Maybe automatic Windows updates? If you still have the issue it would help us a lot if you posted your process list so we could see what's eating all your MHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    yeah I would also agree with the fact that it's a proc. that shouldn't be running XP
    I have a P3 500 that's very sluggish with XP and that's without all those programs running
    it's not a dual core bro :p
  12. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    [​IMG]

    that's my processes list
    edit - and now for some reason the % isn's so high
  13. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    nope limewire wasn't dl'ing anything. I disabled auto updates, and my anti virus isn't running atm.
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Next time it happens, open the task manager and find the hungry process.
    3991vhtes says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    lol its itunes thtas worse than limewire slowed down my sisters 4ghz celeron dump itunes
  16. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    using anything on a 433mhz celeron with 128mb ram aside from desktop (windows xp i presume?) is going to make it crawl like a slug, especially p2p if you have a high speed connection as your pc wasnt designed to process information that fast and its struggling to keep its head above water, my advice would be to make it into a nice little linux box :toast:

    edit lol just noticed it has more running process's than my rig (specs to left) :roll:
  17. Sasika

    Sasika New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sri lanka
    Yup thats bcoz its a 455 Mhz cel :banghead:, sure it has only 256K or less cache isn't it ?
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Probably 32 or 64k. My old 2GHz celeron had 128k.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    nope 128k my friend (this is my celly not his)

    oc it somemore that'l fix it :roll:
  20. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    My 2GHz celery had 128k :/
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    thats why there crap :laugh:
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    yeah ever wonder why i dont like intel no improvement whatsoever since the late 90s :roll:
  24. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    heres my cpu-z
    [​IMG]
    I could bump up the FSB with cpufsb, but it freezes @75MHz
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    oc it some more its only few mhz off beating out my currnetly dead one


    its got a adjustable multi jack the thing up

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page