1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why Is My Ping So High?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Cooldog, May 2, 2008.

  1. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Still the things I wrote should be done to trace the problem.
     
    Cooldog says thanks.
  2. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    Well now my internet is going out around 12:00 AM, so its most likely it my isp, right?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2008
  3. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    i assume if you're behind a router you have more pc's connected at the same time?

    if yes leave only your and check a speed;is normal to have a fluctuating ping and speed if other pc's behind the same router use bandwidth and you don't know about it.

    it was asked in post no.14 if other computers from your local network (connected to router) has the same behaviour but you didn't answer .

    i made my home network also with a router and when i'm using 80% of my bandwidth the other 2 connected has a high ping and low speeds.

    you can use software to manage the router bandwidth like:http://www.desksoft.com/BWMeter.htm

    also if your router has QoS options you can shape bandwidth but i don't know exactly how because i don't need it...
     
    Cooldog says thanks.
  4. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    951 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Road Runner (Cablevision/Comcast) loves to overload junction boxes, they are only supposed to have 15-20 houses per junction, but sometimes they load it up with around 50 or so, just call and complain and they should be able to hook you to a less used junction...

    I know this as a fact since my co-worker worked for their tech-support for 5 years and saw this issue all the time. Also when you call hook directly into the modem since they will try to pass the blame on any aftermarket router/switch.

    I'm sure around 5PM you will notice the internet starts to drag ass. That's because all your neighbors have just gotten home from work and they're browsing the net.

    Ive noticed in my area that since cable has been advertising like crazy the inter speeds have dropped dramatically hence why i switched to FiOS.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2008
    Cooldog says thanks.
  5. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    Yes, all the other comps do.
     
  6. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground

    As in post 21 this is what you're paying for;change the subscription to a higher one.
     
    Cooldog says thanks.
  7. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i would chalk this up to faulty modem/router on your end. Honestly the way his multiple speedtest's behave doesn't say much for his hardware, i would use driver cleaner and ccleaner clean off all the junk, run a virus scan/spyware scan and reinstall all drivers, make sure all windows updates are installed and start with router and 2 computers, ping each one and see how it looks then hook up the modem, ping the modem and see how that goes, then ping something like nvidia where they have an insane amount of bandwidth and see where the fault lies. I've had this problem and it turned out to be a short in a cable that had no television hooked up to it and yes i had just had my cables redone.
     
    Cooldog says thanks.
  8. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    i compared the posted results and seems he have a 512 kb upload subscription now this is not enough to play when all the local network computers use from it.

    cooldog shut down all other pc's from network and make some tests alone;i;m sure it will work
     
    Cooldog says thanks.
  9. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    OK, i ran the spyware checks and virus and everything, and i will check if its better tomorrow, but i have another question, could the internet slow down games, not ping wise.:confused: or would be my comp be slowing down the game. cuz diff people have been saying both.:ohwell:
     
  10. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    I have the med speed.
     
  11. gundukutty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think then problem may be in game server.You can try playing another online game.If the same problem occurs.Reset the Modem ....Un plug the connections,then plugin.You can check the ping using the methods below before playing the game and while playing the game...sure you can find is the problem in connection or in the website.You can check the Ping of the Internet Connection easily...To check Local LAN Connection Ping by using the Following method
    GO to start->run->cmd->Ping ip-address
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 24, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page