1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why more VRAM is needed in GPU?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by cool.dx.rip, May 5, 2013.

  1. cool.dx.rip New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    36 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have seen many members in forums has 4GB HIS 7850 gpu(example)
    why do they need more VRAM?
    What would be if they take 7870 1gb,7990 1GB instead?any performance difference i mainly want to know.
  2. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,442 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    504
    For frame buffering in ultra high resolution and/or multi monitor setups. In some cases the configuration of the GPU doesn't even make sense though. There are fairly weak video cards that have been made that lack the raw power to make use of the VRAM they have. Conversely once in a while you'll see a card with more power than it can make use of due to limited memory bandwidth, which is why the old Ti 4200 could hold it's own against the 5700. With video cards you have to consider how well balanced they are. It's not just a matter of picking out one with an appropriately powered graphics processor for your system.
    cool.dx.rip and jgunning say thanks.
  3. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    957 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    320
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    What Frag Maniac said and also MSAA 8x and higher eats lots of VRAM and uses up lots of video memory bandwidth
  4. cool.dx.rip New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    36 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Any others ppl comment?
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    Nope! Frag Maniac described it nicely .:)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page