1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why won't Amd gpu clock tool work with my 4870?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jcusimano2, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. jcusimano2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    It worked with my visiontek 4870 512Gb CCC 8.10
    but it wont work with my MSI 4870 1Gb CCC 8.11??

    It says to check device configuration

    Please help
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    ATi changed up a bunch of stuff with 8.11's. There is no overclocking utility that I can find that will work with those drivers.:ohwell:
  3. jcusimano2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    This sucks so do I go back to 8.10??
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    If you want the higher clocks, yes. Or wait for some program updates.
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    That's what most people are doing. The general consensus is that the 8.10's perform better anyway. 8.11 seems like a flop.
  6. jcusimano2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Is there anyone that keeps maintenance on Amd gpu clock tool? T make sure it is updated cause I like that tool
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    I guess that would be AMD, but I cannot find any information on their site about it.
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yes uninstall them via devise manager, or remove from add and remove software.

    You should do that before any new install of drivers.......


    Try this program.....I don't know if looks at the device ID or not.....



    Yes that tool keeps getting updated or should. They make a new tool for every new video card.
    GPU tool is a stripped down version of it.

    No you will never see the full version of that tool.....




    Try Gainwards oc tool, I can't find vtune anywhere.....



    You could also just flash the settings you always run on the card:) Then no need for soft lol.

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page