1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why won't xp installation see my f*#&$%g hdd!??!?1

Discussion in 'General Software' started by OzzmanFloyd120, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    So, I have a computer at work where the customer has paid for a complete re-installation of Windows XP. All I have at my disposal is an Dell OEM restore disc and the key off the bottom of the laptop. I've done this plenty of times with other laptops (use a Dell OEM disc for the installation and use the computer's key to activate the OS) and have had no problems what-so-ever, but on this Toshiba tablet PC that I'm working on the PC keeps telling me that Windows XP could not find any HDD drives connected to the computer. The drive is showing in the BIOS, I've HDD tests that write and rewrite to every data sector and it passes and if I use it in an external enclosure it's recognized, but won't complete the OS install.
    Does anybody know why it's doing this, and if there's a way to get the mother f'ing installer to see the HDD so I can complete installation and not have to eat the cost of the computer? Any and all help is appreciated.
     
  2. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I'm guessing that AHCI drivers aren't on the XP disc and the tablet is using AHCI. You can use nLite to slipstream the necessary SATA drivers.
     
    OzzmanFloyd120 says thanks.
  3. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    You need the sata drivers for the Toshiba and put them on a floppy and load them before the install.
    Or you can use NLite and slipstream the drivers on the Dell disc.
     
    OzzmanFloyd120 says thanks.
  4. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Do I need to use a floppy or will a flash drive suffice?
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You can splitstream the drivers with Nlite

    http://www.nliteos.com/

    just extract your OS disc to your PC and then find the sata driver and add it as a text driver then burn as a bootable disc and it will find it when its installing its initial drivers
     
    OzzmanFloyd120 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    I'm pretty sure you need to use a floppy. I couldn't find a way to use a flash drive.

    ^ This. It's very easy to use.
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Has to be floppy for Windows XP. Only with Vista/7 can you use a flash drive.

    You can do the nlite option as stated, or simply go to bios and change the HDD mode to either IDE or compatible mode.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page