1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why you should buy an A/C

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by T4C Fantasy, May 26, 2012.

  1. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,364 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    I'm being off-topic here but Qubit, I love your DP/avatar. :laugh:
    qubit says thanks.
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Cheers matey. One of my FB friends posted it on, err, Facebook and I just couldn't resist making it my avatar! :cool:
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  3. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Has anyone noticed for the price for a good A/C unit you could buy a good beginning water cooling setup? While using A/C is good for some people like me (I tend to sweat like a fat kid on a tricycle when it gets hot out) I don't need it to keep my PC cool. Why because I am under water. Even if my environment temp rises.... my PC usually stays fairly cool while doing normal operations. This is with a PC that has the following specs....
    i7 3770K @ 4.6 Ghz 1.21v "24/7" overclock
    2 x EVGA GTX 680 @ 1253 Core 1702 Mem "24/7" overclock
    XFX pro fully modular PSU 1050 watt
    Gigabyte G.1 Sniper 3 Z77 Motherboard
    G.skill 8GB 1866MHZ "24/7" overclock

    I have never seen temps with normal operations above 45c on my hottest CPU core. During benchmarking and stress testing I have not seen temps above 71c on my hottest core during a 90+ degree day. So my whole point is yes A/C is good.... but if you want to be an overclocker ..... you should plan accordingly and buy the right type of PC cooling first.
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Since a WC loop depends on the rad's ability to remove heat from the loop (which uses the ambient air in the room), a colder ambient temperature in the room will increase the efficiency of a WC loop also.
    Anytime you run your rig in a colder environment, both air cooled and WC setups perform better.
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,892 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I don't know about other people, but I typically buy A/Cs for me and the other people I live with, not my computer. Having my computer in the same room as the AC is just a plus.
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Scandalous !! :laugh:

    Seriously,
    The ideal situation would be to use the A/C as the rad for your waterloop.
    Nice cold loop and comfortable inhabitants.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea I can vouch for this. When I was there in 2005 the power was only on certain times of the day and would spike often so protection was a MUST.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    and just think how much cooler it would be with an A/C added to that ;)
  9. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,819 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    666
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I should look into getting some for just my comp room. we have Geothermal cooling for the whole home about 50k BTU/hr, but sadly the air doesn't come out much in my room, so it can get hot up to 85f even with the A/C at 77f
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,892 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I have a friend who is certified where I live to work on industrial refrigeration systems like ones that cool data centers and such so he has access to refrigerant. He agreed to help me use the parts out of my old 5k BTU A/C to build a refrigerant loop for one of my computers when I get an AC to replace my under-powered one. I know the physics behind how all of it works, but he has done it in practice. So that could be a project for the future.

    Common, if you really want to get heat out of your CPU and don't wait for it to radiate out, just suck it out. :p
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If you do that, make it a project thread with lots of pictures so we can all learn about it :toast:
  12. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    yeah good idea, and also why havent they made pc-A/Cs that do the room and pc like a special slot in the ac that cnnects the loopor radiator etc.


    edit: i read your sig.. the debugging thing is not always correct, its so much easier to debug than it is to build a source code from scratch, for example of an MMORPG written in C++ compiled with VB6!!!!?!?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page