1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wide-screen LCD TVs as monitors.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by thedivinehairband, Nov 24, 2006.

  1. thedivinehairband New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, England
    I have been looking around the net at many sites and you are seeing wide-screen LCD TVs of 26-32" for prices as low as £350.
    This is quite common as technology improves and manufacturing processes improve but with all these wonderful advancements I have one gripe.
    1080p
    With all these nice new TVs promising high def content I've yet to see a reasonably priced smaller scale 1080p capable LCD TV. The smallest model I found was 37" and around £1,500.
    This is quite absurd. With consoles promising this high standard the so called "full" high definition format how come TV manufacturers aren't twigging that there would be a lower end market for these items. Surely its not beyond the realm of technology to get a 1920*1080 screen of around 26" for around £700 perhaps?
    This would cover a middle ground between your high quality 24" monitors and larger 30" monitors from the likes of Dell. Plus you'd get the added bonus of a remote and TV built in.

    Am I the only one who thinks this is a good idea? I would like to get a new monitor/TV but the 1366*768 resolution of most HD TVs just isn't enough. I want more!!!

    Your thoughts please!!
     
  2. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    heres the thing, your not going to pick up a 1080p TV for 350 quid, actually, your not even going to pick up a decent 720p for that money, and considering that the resolution of a 720p TV is lower then a bog standart 17¨ widescreen monitor (1366x768 VS 1440x900), you might not get the desiered quality out of the TV
     
  3. thedivinehairband New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, England
    I reckon 1080p for 650-700 though would be possible. Cause you don't see (or at least I can't find them) 26/27" LCD Monitors about. You get 24" and then it jumps right to 30". Theres no middle ground.
    I desire the extra area on screen for how I have set my room up. It all goes round the TV (currently a big 28" old style wide-screen which is totally doing my eyes in). So I'd like to create a similar setup with a decent quality LCD TV/Monitor of around 26".
     
  4. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    yea, but the issue still is that a LCD TV, unless you spend a pretty penny, will provide an image quality which is compared to the bottom of the barrel when compraed to TFT computer monitors, it might be good for watching movies, but for gaming or work, the LCD TV is hell, fuzzy image quality, low resolution, if you plan to use a LCD TV as a monitor, its either a 1080p, or dont bother
     
  5. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    i had a client who requested that i hook her computer up to an hdtv. the end result disapponted me. my client didnt seem to care too much but i could only get the lcd up to 1024X768 @ 60hz.

    chris
     
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I don't think it would be that bad, heck HD/TV is a computer monitor. I would get the DV-I to HDMI cable to hook up to it.
     
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    it has 1080i at 1920 x 1080 is that good ?
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yes, thats fantasic
     
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yea i been wanting to get one but there not cheap lol
     
  11. thedivinehairband New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, England
    1080i isn't full 1920*1080 resolution. 1080i TVs are usually the 1366*768 resolution. The picture is interlaced to give the impression of higher resolution. Only 1080p is the full 1920*1080 resolution video. :D

    Darn those sneaky manufacturers and their marketing.
     
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :ohwell: well that what it say in the operating instructions cuz it also shows 720p at 1280x720, 480p at 720x480, 640x480 and 480i at 720x480
     
  13. thedivinehairband New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, England
    Oh see I always belived that 1080p was the only one supporting the full 1920*1080 resolution. I'm pretty sure thats the case and that interlaced (1080i) is a different thing.

    Anyone got info on this? Which HD standards are which resolutions? I could google for it but I'm being lazy with the gf.
     
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  15. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    1024X768 @ 60hz thats what i had mine at with just a RGB connector;)...
    well at least it will be digital sig ...as to wheather or not you can it to 720p??? should work see pic for horizontal(KHz)vertical(Hz) ##:)
     

    Attached Files:

    • se2.pdf
      File size:
      55.5 KB
      Views:
      126
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2006
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    mine to with the RGB but with the HDMI is says
    Display mode / No. dots / vertical(Hz) / info. menu display
    1080i / 1920x1080 / 59.94/60 / 1080i
    720p / 1280x720 / "/" / 720p
    480p / 720x480 and 640x480 / "/" / 480p
    480i / 720x480 / "/" / 480i


    so would it be good the get that connector?
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2006
  17. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    :) for 10$ yes ....BWT i run my 42in plasma off the rbg because it's 20 ft away from the rig and it will still produce 720p &1080i .....the 32in lcd i use on the rig is dvi-d and it too will reproduce those reses
     
  18. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :rolleyes: my only gets 1024X768 with the RBG but mine bigger :nutkick: :laugh: i got a 25ft Ethernet cable goint to put the new comp in the entertainment center when i get my mobo and cpu:p
     
  19. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    :twitch: ;) building a comp right now for that myself got an old p4 3.0 and a 1600pro for the output still looking for a scrapper mb for it
     
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    is yours a 478 or a 775 ? what are you making and intel or amd?
     
  21. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    478 got given a hand full of them last year they got pleanty of speed for the tube & the MB's are cheep only prob price of ddr going up but will soon have some used to install :laugh:
     
  22. thedivinehairband New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, England

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page