1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wierd HDD problem. Help

Discussion in 'Storage' started by suraswami, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I bought 2 seagate 500GB drives.

    This sucker here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148136

    One was good. The other one has a wierd problem.

    Bios recogonises the HDD. Post also shows it. Windows recogonised it correctly. Allows to do a quick format. Can assign drive letter. But cannot copy any files to the drive. Cannot run any HDD speed test software on it. Tried HDTach, NVidia and Crystal CPUmark. Windows hangs or waits for ever.

    Used the Seagate CD to format the drive from DOS. Formatted fine. But same case cannot copy files.

    Used Seagate tools to format within windows. Took almost 1 hr to format 99% and stayed there for over 20 minutes. Then when re-booted the machine XP will not boot at all if the drive is attached.

    Is the drive F..d up? Should I do a low level format to see if there are any bad sectors? If so what is the tool name (forgot sorry).

    Help.
  2. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Try changing ports? Sounds like a pretty crazy problem.
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Tried 2 ports from mobo, from a pci sata controller and totally a different mobo too.
  4. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    The egg is great with RMAs, I would say it isn't worth your time trying to diagnose it. Can you view the drives SMART data? TPU hosts hwinfo which can view it. If there are ANY problems with the SMART data, just RMA it.
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    no I bought from a TPU member here.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,720 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,866
    RMA it to Seagate, it might have a bad firmware on it.
    JoshBrunelle says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. JoshBrunelle

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    258 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    ^^ Yes yes, Seagate is great with RMAs. RMA'd a old, dead 200GB IDE Maxtor from before they even bought them and they still honored the warranty. (plus it was a refurb in the first place)
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Actually the guy who I bought from is awesome. He refunded the money for one drive. So I am good.

    On a side note, the drive is OEM for system builders. So cannot claim RMA.
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Curious, how to update the firmware?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page