1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

wierd standoff issue on haf x

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by d3fct, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    hey guys, just put my system into a haf x. previous to the case swap, all the same components were in a mountain mods pinnacle case and never had any issue's.

    any way's here it goes. after fully swapping and being ready for first post, it wouldnt post, just a shitty constant restart after about 2 seconds, and would just cycle(let it go for 5-10 mins, wouldn't revert to default, wierd). so i was like wtf, clr cmos and all was good. so i chalked it up to maybe something wasn't done right on my part. the next day i tried to boot, same thing. so, i figured clr cmos and try again, maybe i just messed up a setting in the bios(operator error).

    nope, clr cmos no go, i tried leaving the battery out, no go... so one by one i began unplugging components, swapping ram stick around still no post.... at this point im gettin f'n mad, unplugged everything from mobo, front panel usb etc, reset switch hdd light, hdd's, gpu, everything but the power switch and the psu lines needed. still no go....

    now at this point i was starting to think the case is the culprit. so i take out all the screws that mount the mobo to the standoff's and walla... shit works just fine.

    for some reason i decided to put in every standoff that is required for this mobo, wich i usually never do. i usually do the center and all four corners, skipping the rest. so i wen't back to my old routine, 1 center and 4 corners.

    problem solved.

    not sure what the deal was a bad ground on one of the other standoff's or mobo, but i have remedied the problem.

    I thought this was odd, and i wanted to share this mishap so if any other ppl have this issue they can try this.

    sorry for the rant, it's late i'm not going to check for spelling errors and such, hopefully it legible enough.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
    Cold Storm and Damn_Smooth say thanks.
  2. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Thanks for sharing, I'm glad you got it figured out.

    That is really weird though, it would have taken me awhile to figure that one out.
     
    d3fct says thanks.
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The funny part.. is that I do the same thing as you.. I don't do it all I just do the four and the middle.. Never had a problem..

    Glad it was that and nothing with a "touch wrong" when placing it in the case.

    :toast:
     
    d3fct says thanks.
  4. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    860 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    325
    A friend of a friend (someone I know personally to be one of those "I already know everything there is to know, so don't bother trying to tell me anything" people) bought a fancy aftermarket case to put his obsolete OEM computer in (yeah, that's right... apparently ricers come in PC version too :laugh:) and he couldn't figure out why it wasn't working. It did the same thing you described. Well, he lives 4 3/4 hours away, and I'm the only "Computer Guy" he knows, so he asked our mutual friend to ask me what was the problem. He never did give me any more info than what I just told you, so obviously I couldn't help much. Six months later, it comes down the grapevine that they figured it out. Our mutual friend, who knows about as much about computers as I know about brain surgery noticed that he didn't use any standoffs. He just bolted the motherboard straight to the case. :shadedshu So they put the standoffs in, and luckily nothing was damaged, just fired right up.

    Why I bring this up, apart from the comedic value, is that it leads me to believe that one of the motherboard mounting holes on your motherboard may be electrically bridged to one of the circuits on your motherboard. If that was the case, it would ground out through the mounting screw, to the standoff, and into the case. If you ever go and remount it, try using some of those paper washers on both sides of the motherboard and see if you still have the issue.
     
  5. Hotobu

    Hotobu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    278 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    There was a time where the only thing holding my mobo in case was 1 standoff, the PCI cards and I/O inputs. If I did so much as stomp on the ground my computer would reset. I couldn't so much as blow on the mobo before it would reset. The problem? I couldn't remember the word "standoff" for the fucking life of me. You can't exactly put "those little things on the motherboard that hold it in place" into Newegg or whatever to get a result. It wasn't that big of a deal to me either so I just left it that way for a while. I friend of mine asked some guy at a computer store what the word was and bought some for me.... I think I put them in 3 months later.
     
    mastrdrver says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page