1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wifi stops working when using ethernet

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Shaqqo, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. Shaqqo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so I moved a desktop computer and now its plugged into the router, Netgear N300, via ethernet. However, any device that tries to connect to the internet can't. My mac and phone can detect it, but when asked to connect my mac says "Connection timed out" and my phone just doesn't. The comp plugged into the internet works fine. I've called my isp and they told me to reset my router to its factory settings which I did, but the problem is still here.
  2. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    If the computer is unplugged from the ethernet, does the wifi work?
  3. Shaqqo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, once its disconnected from the router wifi starts working again on all devices.
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Does this happen with another router?
  5. Shaqqo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't know because I only have this router. However, when I plug my macbook into the router and not my windows desktop, the wifi works fine on other computers.
  6. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Are you running any sort of torrent from the Desktop? I hear this may give networks issues with some ISPs having reached a maximum number of connections.
  7. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    894 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    236
    It sounds like the two adapters on the desktop are both active, try shutting off/disable the wireless and enabling the nic adapter.

    Yes, I know this has nothing to do with the router.

    Are you using mac restrictions on the router...try adding the nic mac address if not on list.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page