1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will 2x8800GT MAX Crysis?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Live OR Die, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Hi guys i want to max crysis, on my current system do you think 2 8800GT will do fine?
  2. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Definitely NOT with 1680x1050 + 512MB per card & "very high" textures.
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2007
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,512 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,158
    I actually think he will.. Maybe. Buy all three and find out. :p
  4. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    The question is does Crysis use more than 512MB of VRAM at "Very High" textures @ 1680x1050. Answer to this clearly is YES.

    Thus, SLi with 512MB per card simply can't run smoothly because both cards have to cache the exact same textures the VRAM are mirrors not cumulatives.
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    8800GT cant do tri sli:(, so what do you guys think will max crysis in the same price range?
  6. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I rackon Frick meant (1.)Crysis + (2.) 8800GT + (3.) 8800GT.
    ;)

    But, think I've heard there's 8800GT 1GB coming too, that should be enough for "Very High" textures in Crysis... Or the HD3870 if it comes in 1GB flavors.
  7. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    i think the new 8800GTS is 512mb and 1GB ,when the 8800GT is only 256mb and 512mb and i want to be ready for crysis when it comes out, and i need nvidia cards because i want to sli them, isnt a 8800GT close to a 8800GTX so should to fly fast a 8800 Ultra?
  8. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    My 640mb gts played very high textures no prob, I think that if you overclock the 8800gt it should be ok? I thought the 8800gt was faster? couldnt it process the textures faster? especially if overclocked?

    I had everything max but shadows & post processing on high. Im sure Largon & Frick know what thier talking about though :p

    I sold my gts last night :D might get a gt to hold me off till 9800's come out.


    Edit: it only has so much ram available though for textures elc.. once it gets filled you will start lagging :(.
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    yer im waiting the 9800's to i just want a card thats cheap that will max games till the 9800's are out, yer looking at this score when the 8800GT oc it comes close to my 8800Ultra when i had it.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  10. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    here this is my system oc to 3.975 GHZ with a 8800Ultra XXX the 8800 GT get a better score when overclocked and in windows vista it use or ram for VGA memory dosnt it? but i no the 8800GT running with a Quad

    [​IMG]
  11. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    I think the more textures elc you add the more ram you need to maintain it from becoming a bottleneck, in Company of heroes when you added more detail into the setting it had a ram usage bar thing.. so the card may run faster (alot faster in sli) but once you use up the available ram you will prob see lag.. till than you will have faster frames.

    I can live with almost max graphics :p have before, but yeah some games that are going to come out will have lots of textures.. I remember seeing a demo for one game like Oblivion... had some crazy detail. thats when you get a 9800gtx elc.
    Live OR Die says thanks.
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    yer so do you think if i buy 2 8800GT and SLI them with 4gb of ram i should be ok max crysis or coming close, When are the 9800s out next year?
  13. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    wwell recently I was reading that the 9800 gts/gtx is seposed to be out Nov or before chrismas.. might not be though.. I thought it was nexted year.

    thats what I read on some fourm just now.. but it was posted like last month.
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Yer think theres just rumors out atm they wouldn't release them this year because all the cards there renewing to 65nm, like the 8800GTS that coming out in nov, i think mid next year
  15. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    when in Nov you think the new gts will be out? I could use one of those :p
  16. bullseye69mech New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Depends on the resolution that you want to run. If it want max it out i don't know what would.
    Good processor (It a Intel) so sue me I a AMD guy ok everyne has flaws.
    4 gig of ram on 32 bit vista should be enough.
    2 of those video card 8800gt
    I run crysis sigle player demo at medium at 1024 by 768 with a cheap 7900gt
  17. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    So can Crysis be ran on 2560x1600? Wondering if I need another 8800GTX at this resolution.
  18. ccleorina

    ccleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    195 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Overclocking Hell
    Sure u can run if 2 8800GTX in SLI and 4Gb ram also Quad core:rockout: But Dual core sure can run the game nice....
  19. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
  20. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Live...or well you may die, we'll just have to see what your results are, but thanks for being an impulse buyer, we always need tech. guinea pigs around here :)
  21. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    look at my system specs and im running @ 168081050 and i cant max crysis on its highest setting (aprox 20 fps) i have to run about half of the setting on high to get 30 fps.. but i haven't tried things at lower res's yet
  22. hercules71185 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that is so weird at 1650 x 1050 I max everything out and I only get like 6400 in 3dmark06 I have the 3600x2 64 @2.8 and 8600gt at 640/1600 from 540/1400. that isn't a crazy setup considering everything in my entire setup
    case, psu, 3gb ram, cpu, motherboard, video card, sound card, dual layer dvd burner, wireless mouse(2000dpi) keyboard,sick logitech speakers and 22" lcd monitor 1000:1 contrast ratio was under 600 dollars. come on big bucks is just waste for now
    you guys getting 12k not being able to max out that game seems weird. I don't care what the recommended are I can have utorrent downloading at 1mb/sec and uploading at 200kb/sec, trillian, media monkey and a cpu chart open and yea that slows my speed down.
    and still get 50fps fully maxing out battlefield 2142, fear, oblivion with quarls texture pack, and bioshock.. I'm confused. I want a better system yea but, I still don't know why haha
  23. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    well ill hoping 2x8800GT will max it ,if not looks like im goin for a new 8800GTS or ill wait for the 9800GTX but i hate waiting, when i could be playing crysis :slap:
  24. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    No SLI in demo, only in the final retail version. I doubt even two gt's will max it, there is a ton of effects coded in. Time will tell.
  25. v-zero Guest

    Take it from somebody who has a spare PC with an 8600gts - Crysis at anything above 1024x746 and medium settings kills it!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page