1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will A 520W PSU enough for this rig? The Rig is .....

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by gopal, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Intel i5 2310
    Gigabyte GA-Z77P-D3 (rev. 1.0)
    G.Skill DDR3 1333 MHz 4 GB (F3-10600CL9S-4GBNT)
    MSI R7850 Power Edition 2GD5 (I will OC it to 1250Core and 1375Memory at 1.225 Volts)
    WD Caviar Black 500 GB Sata 2

    I am looking for SeaSonic S12II 520?

    Will be it enough for it!?:confused:
    and i will oc my GPU as i said!

    Well if it is not enough for it then my budget is 70$ (3800INR)!
    :laugh::roll::laugh:
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,898 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,416
    Yes and yes. It will work quite well. The 7850 peaks out at about 100W, so you're good to go.
     
    gopal says thanks.
  3. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Thanks for your help!
    I was worried about it because on extreme.outervision.com the capacitor aging will be atleast at 20% and at that it was 570W recommend!
    But What is this Capacitor Aging Stuff?
     
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    With how much a 7850 is using I'd say it's overkill! Joke aside, it's enough and Seasonic is good.
     
    gopal says thanks.
  5. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    So it will be nice if i oc my CPU too?
     
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    That's a locked CPU so very limited overclocking. It will be enough.
     
  7. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Thanks !
    What is this capacitor aging stuff?
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,898 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,416
    How it degrades over time. How did you make it say 570W? I did the same calculations on your system and even at 50% cap aging it just said 470W.

    You could probably even do crossfire with that PSU. ;)
     
    gopal says thanks.
  9. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Are you serious! To do CF on that!
    Well this is weird last 3-4 times i checked that it was over 530W to 570W and now at max it is 513W !
    Well for CF my mobo does support CF but at x16 and x4 and i think this is not enough to CF does it!
     
  10. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,898 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,416
    It would be pushing it a bit, but it would work.
     
  11. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I did crossfire with 2 4850's on a corsair 520w
     
  12. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Now get it now do i get that 550W result check this

    Motherboard: High End - Desktop
    CPU Socket: Socket LGA 1155
    CPU: Intel Core i5-2310 2900 MHz Sandy Bridge
    CPU Utilization (TDP): 100% TDP

    RAM: 4 Sticks DDR3 SDRAM
    Video Card 1: AMD Radeon HD 7850

    Regular SATA: 1 HDD

    DVD-RW/DVD+RW Drive: 1 Drive

    Fans
    Regular: 2 Fans 120mm; 1 Fan 140mm;

    Keyboard and mouse: Yes

    System Load: 100 %

    Capacitor Aging (+ W %): 50 %



    Minimum PSU Wattage: 507 Watts
    Recommended Wattage: 557 Watts
     
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    AMD supports CF x16 x4. At stock 2x7850 that Seasonic will work very good. Even if you overclock the cards let's say they will pull 300W plus the rest at 150W it is manageable.
     
    gopal says thanks.
  14. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Really that great because in can CF it in future!
     
  15. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Semi wrong . You can still bump up the clock by a few mhz by changing the bclk . An example would be the i52400 where it can go up to 3.7ghz
     
  16. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Can i manage to get atleast 3.3Ghz on that CPU?
    Without playing with voltages
     
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Hence he said "Very limited overclocking"?? :rolleyes: though should have specified multi locked I guess?
     
  18. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    I also know that it is locked and to oc big i need a K CPU but can i get 3.3+ Ghz on that?
    And which software should i use to do it?
    I am not interested in bios ocing !:D
     
  19. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    ah pardon me didn't see that .
     
  20. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    To make things clearer for the OP, on a locked Sandy i5 you can add up to "4 speed bins" above the highest turbo boost frequency available for your CPU. So basically you can increase the multi with 4 (that is if your mobo chipset allows). Additionally you can alter the base clock freq but this brings certain risks with it since this clock controls the PCI-e bus and SATA among other things.
     
  21. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    What is speed bins?(do you mean multipliers?):confused:
     
  22. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well turbo boost can get me to 3.2 so maybe i can go to 3.3 or 3.5
    without taking alot of risks!
     
  23. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    I am looking to oc because some games need extra Ghz for fps for eg.
    Crysis 2 Optimum System Requirements

    CPU: Intel Core i5 3.1Ghz, AMD Phenom II X6 1055T or better
    GPU: NVidia GTX 560 Ti, ATI 6850 or Dual graphics cards
    RAM: 4GB
    DX: 11
    Shader: 4.0
    OS: Windows 7
    Frame Rate Target: 30fps@1920x1200
     
  24. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    gopal says thanks.
  25. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Hey These are pretty useful links thanks!
    The TPU thread was most helpful!
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page