1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

will a pcie x16 card work with only 4 lanes enabled?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by aximbigfan, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    i have an asrock 775 dual vista and it does have a pcie x16 slot, theonly thing is that it only has 4 lanes. will any old pcie x16 card work in the x16 slot?
    i know there is alot of contriversy on thisd mobo becouse of the pcie slot. i will clear a little bit of it.
    the mobo does a phisical x16 slot (a pcie x16 card will fit in it)
    electricaly it is 4x. (it has 4 lanes)
    so again, will any old x16 card work with 12 of its lanes disabled?


    chris
  2. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I have the same mobo, I also have a X1650 PCI-e 16x and that works fine, but I also have a X800GTO which kicks the X1650PRO' ass, silly me thought it was fooked but no it was ati tool corrupting something along the way and making it shut my machine down, so I have a surplus of gfx cards lol!

    But yes it will work fine!

    :cool:
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    yeah it should...
  4. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    and if i get a new mobo in the future then as soon as i put the card i nthe new mob it will start working at x16 lanes again? i heard a rumor that once you use a x16 card with some of its lanes disabled then it gets stuck thsat way... ui dont think its true but just woundering...



    chris
  5. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,691 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    It'll work just fine at 16X on a 16X enabled PCIe motherboard
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    never heard of lanes locking up :p

    dont think thats true :p
  7. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    That rumor is false and retarded. Itll work just fine.
  8. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    The rumor was from an unkind person trying to pwn you in front of your friends... To make you look like a total n00b. Next time you see him, kick his ass.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page