1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will an AM2(+) Heatsink/Fan fit an AM3 skt?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by HookeyStreet, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Im looking for a new AM3 cooler and was wondering if the fixtures are the same as the AM2/AM2+ :confused: I know the pin placement on the actual CPU is different but would an AM2/AM2+ CPU cooler be suitable for an AM3 CPU?

    Thanx in advance
     
  2. rockleez

    rockleez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I guess a AM2+ would, and if you get a AM3 heatsink get the Xigmatek Dark Knight, there awesome and work really well :D
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thanks for the advice, but I was hoping to be able to use this: Zalman CNPS 9700 LED Socket 754, 940, 775, 939 & AM2 CPU cooler
     
  4. Rintrah New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I know for a fact AM2+ heatsinks will fit an AM3 mobo and if I remember correctly AM2 will aslo fit . AMD has not changed the retention mechanism very much. When purchasing a heatsink be aware of its orientation after installation as many heatsinks designed for amd will blow from bottom to top and not from front to back. Hope I could Help.
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Any heatsink compatible with skt 754, 939, AM2, and AM2+ will work on a AM3 board. The only things that could be a concern is clearance around the heatsink like mosfet heatsinks, caps, or tall standing memory.

    With that Zalman you should be able to have it pull cool air from the front if it's anything like my 9500 LED was.
     
    Kei says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. rockleez

    rockleez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    136 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  7. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thanks guys, I had a feeling that the retention mech was the same :)
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    939, AM2, AM2+, AM3, and server L1 all use the same mounting config
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  9. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thanks m8, I thought they all looked similar ;)
     
  10. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Thats a very nice cooler. Will work perfectly with what you have.
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  11. Dandel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    102 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I can confirm this as well, because the cooler i have says it supports AMD AM2/AM2+ however, on stock mountings for my AM3 setup, it works with ease. The only issues that can arise from where the motherboard mounts are the size of the chipset heatsinks, and how tall the ram kit is.
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    in fact, 939 has only 2 tightening screws, when the retention module is removed. its slightly different, but most manufactures have thought about that (thermaltake did something right finally... they produced an universal plate for every socket up to am3, for my block :D)

    all other sockets are virtually the same ;)
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    actually 754 has two mounting screws 939 was the first with 4
     
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    the 939 board bogmali once sent to me has 2 screwing holes. are there differences between manufacturers?
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I agree that 939 has 2
    I don't think that is right. I remember people making a big deal there there 939 heatsinks can't be used on there AM2 because of AM2 having 4 screws when 754 and 939 have 2.

    Now back on topic. The AM2/+ will work without a problem on the AM3 as the only thing that changed was the pin out and DDR3 ram.That is about all that AM3 changed
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    ok i just had my gf check they are 2 screws but the plastic piece is the same shape as a AM2 etc. so if the cooler is locks with the plastic mount your fine 939 and up. i'm using a cooler off one of my phenoms on her PC right now
     
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    as long as the retention module is mounted, every cooler that uses it, will fit;)
    i use my old thermaltake block, that i modded to a makrolon cover, and it works pretty good!:)
     
    cdawall says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page