1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will damage result from using a cpu with higher wattage than board rating?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Dabode, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. Dabode New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    So, I just sold a buddy of mine my old AMD Phenom 9950 x4 black edition 2.6 ghz processor, and we perused newegg looking for an inexpensive board that he could use with it. We decided on the Asus M4A785-M as it supports AM3/AM2+/AM2 socket processors from the Phenom II / Phenom / Athlon II / Athlon64 /Sempron families.

    We get everything together boot the system up, and get the message "This CPU is not supported by this model. Please check CPU QVL on ASUS website" After scratching my head for awhile and googling the message, I determine that the problem is resulting from the CPU being 140w and after reading the manual it states that the board supports UP TO 125w. After hitting F1 to continue booting past the error message, windows loads up just fine, and everything seems to function great. My concern is, could this potentially damage either the CPU or MoBo? If so, would an underclock bring things down to a safe level? Should I just say screw the whole thing and try to return the MoBo for a different model? Advice please!! :eek:
  2. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Ohh it seems like it wont damage the motherboard then.


    But right now your slowly degrading it, and pushing your motherboards caps, and ferrit/choke/capasitor/mosfets loads down to the max, so if you smell something possible burning which there is a chance it might, something burned out.

    your fine right now



    ***EDIT*** I edited right when you edited it. haahaha :)*

    And yeh that what will probably happen +1 devil
    Dabode says thanks.
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Good question, but I'm not sure on the answer.

    Googling around, I found this response to somebody trying to use a higher power CPU in a lower power board:

    "a 125w 9850 would probably burn up the mosfet located near the left side of the cpu and trash the board."

    Read. It got into Windows...
    Dabode says thanks.
  4. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    flash the board bio





    mine board is 95 watt cpu but i got a 125 watt cpu in it ,.. it run fine for the late 2 year and it over clock with no problem
    Dabode says thanks.
  5. Dabode New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I've already updated to the latest BIOS for the board from the ASUS website. I still get the same message. So I gather from what you're all saying, that it would be best to try to get a different board? This is for a buddy, and it's primary use is going to be for gaming. I just don't want him to end up with a dead board in a month and a half. If you think he'll be fine, I'll just tell him to stick with it.
  6. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    yep :toast:
  7. Dabode New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Not that I don't believe you, but does anyone else think he'll be ok with this setup???
  8. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Just a word of warning. I ran overclocked a Q6600 on a cheap MSI P45 board which had crappy voltage control. I pushed 1.4v through the chip and the board burst into flames under a stress test. There is obviously a risk involved.
    Dabode says thanks.
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    I wouldn't run it. Too risky to burn out the mosfets and damage more than just the board.
    Dabode says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    What we all try to say get a better board.!!!!!! :toast:
    Dabode says thanks.
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I would run it with a undervolt at stock speeds but if that doesn't work then i would get a different board
    Dabode says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,562
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2010
    Dabode says thanks.
  13. orionbg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    The newer ones Yes! The older ones are 140W

    And BTW I saw a review of one of thees Phenoms long ago and the board they used literally burst into flames during the tests!
    This setup is a Fire hazard!
    Dabode and 95Viper say thanks.
  14. Dabode New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for the advice guys. Going to contact newegg about a return. Already found a different board that specifically states that it's 140w compatible.
  15. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    :rockout:
  16. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Good call. Hope you like the new board!
  17. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I would have paid money to see that...:laugh:
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I had a Phenom 9500 (95w processor) in a 95w board, and I overclocked it and overvolted it to the point where it was using 125w, and it fried my board, and killed my graphics card. It was an evga 9800GT...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I bet, it wasn't your system :)

    I still have some (shitty quality) pics of the burned out components.
  20. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I think a guy asking this question is just stupid! ***LOL Sorry work with this guy I know trolling****

    I already told you my answer bro. RMA time.
  21. GREASEMONKEY

    GREASEMONKEY

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    597 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Pacific N.W.
  22. rex514 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Same Problem Diff Cpu

    Hey looking for some help i have the m4a785-m with a dual core amd athlon 4000+ ok and trying to upgrade to amd phenom 8650 computer turns on starts from cd to install windows 7 loads the 2 white lines the when it get to the flower screen just goes up in dots of red and reboots nothing wrong with that processor its working on a motherbord now the asus m2n-e if anyone can help me out that would be great thx

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page