1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will FX 6300 bottleneck HD 7950?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by N3trox, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. N3trox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    89 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hey guys i'm planning to build a gaming rig and i was thinking to use FX6300 with ASUS HD 7950 DCUII TOP? Will it bottleneck or i'll be able to use it fine? I can't go with an Intel i5 my budget and prices in Turkey won't let me? :banghead: Anyways any answer will be appreciated thanks a lot have a nice day...
  2. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I think it should be fine, depending on the resolution you game at. If its 1080p, I don't see it being a problem as 1080p and up will rely more heavily on your GPU, especially with higher quality settings.

    I game at 1080p with my 1100T (overclocked to 4.0GHz) and GTX680 without a problem.
    HD64G and N3trox say thanks.
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,430 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    you'll be just fine me plus a few others have used HD 7950's with a FX 4100 with minimal bottlenecks depending on game
    N3trox says thanks.
  4. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,089 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    884
    No it will not bottleneck it!

    What is your full system specification BTW.
    HD64G and N3trox say thanks.
  5. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'd say you're fine for most stuff:) I'd also suggest you overclock the chip a bit if you can; It will most certainly boost your FPS a bit :)
    HD64G and N3trox say thanks.
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    yupppp not too much with a lil clock or two! main concern is the size of the card lol
    HD64G and N3trox say thanks.
  7. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    those chips oc very nice, it should be ok for that gpu.
    HD64G and N3trox say thanks.
  8. N3trox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    89 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Thanks so much for the answers. The rig parts in my head are:

    ASUS M5A97 R2.0
    AMD FX 6300
    G.Skill RipjawsX 1866 MHz 2x4GB DDR3 RAM
    ASUS HD 7950 DCUII TOP
    Aerocool XPredator X1 Snow White Case
    Corsair CX600 Watt PSU
    Akasa Venom CPU Cooler
    Samsung SyncMaster S22B350H 21.5 '' Full HD monitor

    Any advices on pieces btw? It costs like 1200 $ in Turkey. I know it's not a good price but it's the cheapes. ^^ Taxes here are soooooo high. And one more thing? Will it even work fine with FX 4100? My friend wants to upgrade his HD 6850 to same HD 7950 and he has FX4100 in his rig? ^^
    Dent1 says thanks.
  9. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    how much space has that case got for gfx cards?? and yea itll work just about with fx4100. but mine struggles on crisis 3 tho
    N3trox says thanks.
  10. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    445 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    TR
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
    N3trox says thanks.
  11. N3trox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    89 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    It has 40 CM width enough for new graphics cards. ^^ Even GTX 670 struggles with Crysis 3. Damn game just eats the system. ^^ Amazing graphics tho even on low settings...
  12. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    ah good, I bought my case then bought the card without researching sizes lol. 30cm case space 30cm card haha and its the cpu that struggles my gfx is fine on high
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,089 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    884
    I think his 6850 is best for this FX4100. It should handle games fine already.

    The 7950 is quite high end, so I'd be reluctant to pair it with a lower end quad core.
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,430 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    It would be fine but there will be some bottlenecking in some games. I would suggest he get a HD 7870 at least but if he really wants the HD 7950 then it will be fine
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,506 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    There wont be any bottlenecking in any sort of game. you will get over 60FPS on all games.

    As for the motherboard, Get an ASRock Extreme 4. much better than ASUS. i just got a 990fx extreme 4 myself, and the VRM seems a lot better than the m5a 97 evo!
    HD64G says thanks.
  16. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    445 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    TR
    Only 970pro 3 /970 Extreme 3 and 990FX fatality in stock in Turkey atm and

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...UFlMEVWeFhuckJEVF9aMmtpUFE&chrome=false&gid=2 Asrock VRM database

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...UFlMEVWeFhuckJEVF9aMmtpUFE&chrome=false&gid=4 Asus VRm database

    Source http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/amd-motherboards-vrm-info-database
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,506 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    go for the fatality then.

    asus is having quality issues with their boards at the moment. thats why i (i bought 3 asus boards excluding my previous own board) choose to go to ASRock.

    the vcore on my board stays rock stable.

    the price difference here between the M5A97 EVO/pro and the Extreme 4 isnt much. and believe me the features are really worth it. I even liked the ASRock UEFI bios more than the ASUS one, just because of the simplicity, ease of use and the good descriptions.

    do note that you can get the ASRock 97 extreme 4 at same price of the 97 evo.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,506 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    Yes, the CPU is indeed a bit low. the FX4100 isnt at all a good CPU. the FX6300 is good.

    Phenoms were beast.
  19. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    yea im not buying an asus mobo unless its a rampage or crosshair, while im budget ill go gigabyte or asrock, p.s hows the V and L word ;) ddd
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,506 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    V and L word? what do you mean?

    i just woke up, so my brain isnt up to speed, yet.
  21. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To te honest, imho the sabertooth mobo's from ASUS are just as stable/overclocking friendly, and generally cost a bit less compared to the crosshair ones. I'm currently pumping about 350Watts through my CPU according to my PSU Software, and this sabertooth doesnt give a damn and stays cool/stable.
  22. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    i´ve just finished my build

    with a FX-8350 and HD7950 on ASRock 990FX Extreme3
    OC Results

    and from what i can say the Asrock is a Solid Mainboard which surprised me since i always thought they´re rubbish :wtf:
    and its 1/2 price of the Crosshair also the HD7950 allows nice OC results
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013
    de.das.dude and HD64G say thanks.
  23. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    voltage line lol and notiert whats the highest clock you got on your card?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page