1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will I need to reinstall windows with the same chipset?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Paulieg, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm replacing my DFI p35 board with an Abit IP35 board. I'd like to not have to reinstall windows etc. Given it's the same chipset, will I run into issues?
     
  2. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    shouldn't as long as there's no RAID, and even then as long as it's the same SB it'd most likely be fine
     
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,468 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,169
    no, as long as you uninstall that boards drivers before you swap boards. also, you'll need to reactivate.
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    You don't "have" to install with different chipsets if you prepare first, switch your ide drivers back to standard ide controller that comes with windows :)

    Makes life easier for some, but always best off with a fresh install, then its good and clean.


    Don't forget to remove your no longer present devices from the device list.
     
  5. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    as long as the cpu is the same if you reset bios and uninstall the drivers then windows wont know the difference
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page