1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will my 4670k bottleneck my r9 290?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Padzki, May 7, 2014.

  1. Padzki

    Padzki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    60 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Hi guys,

    I was just wondering if my current 4670k @ 4.0 Ghz bottleneck my r9 290. Do I need to upgrade to i7?

    Please advise.

    Thanks
  2. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    812 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    south korea
    nope. even crossfire your 4670k will not bottleneck 290's. could see you already have 280x. why 290? what is resolution of your monitor? if it is only 1080p, youre wasting money for 290. unless you plan on switching 1440p or higher.
    Padzki says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    581 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    No you have nothing to worry about. No need for an update.
    Padzki says thanks.
  4. Padzki

    Padzki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    60 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I already sold my 280x and got a 290. Yes, indeed I'm regretting it.. but what's done is done.. updated my profile
    night.fox says thanks.
  5. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    812 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    south korea
    well ok. now its time for monitor upgrade. :toast::clap:
    Padzki and fullinfusion say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,100 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    You'll be happy with the upgrade. Look at it this way, your 280x overclocked to the balls is like a 290 STOCK so have fun with it :rockout:
    Padzki says thanks.
  7. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    381 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    i upgraded from a 7970 to a 290, it was well worth the upgrade, no need to regret it.

    I only game at 1080p.
    Padzki says thanks.
  8. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    806 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    No it won't, you could even run a trio of those cards easily and not be bottlenecked.
    Padzki says thanks.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,979
    Considering it is one of the best, if not the best gaming CPU on the market. No.
    Padzki says thanks.
  10. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,340 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    You guys are silly! He is going to need the 8ghz overclocked devils canyon pentium!
    Kursah, Lightbulbie and Padzki say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Padzki

    Padzki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    60 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Thank you for your sarcasm LOL.. still +1 Thanks :D
  12. Padzki

    Padzki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    60 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Looking forward to play Watch Dogs.. i7 recommended CPU? What sorcery is this!? lol
  13. Enterprise24

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    76 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Some CPU intensive game like Total War Rome II is still CPU bottleneck even at ultra HD resolution.
    My 4670K @ 4.7Ghz cannot feed R9-290 (successfully unlock to 290X) in this game using Ultra Quality , 3840 x 2160 resolution when zoom out it's playable 30-40FPS (RTS game don't need 60FPS) but when zoom in battle my VGA load under 50% and frame drop to 10-20FPS.
  14. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    381 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Thats more about the game engine than anything else.

    AI and pathing requires huge cpu cycles.

    That was the point of mantle and the starswsarm demo.
  15. Lightbulbie

    Lightbulbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    491 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Bremerton, Washington
    It's (whoever is making Watch Dogs) trying to be like "OMG BEST GRAFIKS EVAR" and adding as much "detail" as possible. Have you seen the minimum reqs? Those are insane too.
  16. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,681 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    This.

    I honestly question purchasing a 4770k...sometimes the extra threads are handy...but not often enough. The 4670k a great chip for gaming and beyond and will be for some time to come.
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I wouldn't call it a waste. I play at 1080p and noticed a good difference in minimum framerates when switching from my WC'd 7970 to just a reference 290x (it'll be under water soon). It's not the max FPS that matters, it's the minimum.
    THE_EGG and Jetster say thanks.
  18. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    The new Wolfenstein also recommends an i7. They're really pushing this 8 core crap any idea why? consoles?
  19. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    381 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    i wouldnt complain too much, it means they are pushing multithreading.

    support has been shitty forever.
  20. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,411 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Nah it won't. Even though these new games recommend having an i7 or equivalent I highly doubt it will fully utilize all threads. Playing BF4 between my lan box (4.2ghz i5-3570k) and my main rig (i7 4770 - non-k) (when I tried the gtx 780 in both) I didn't notice any change apart from maybe ever so slightly faster loading times with my main rig with the i7 but I have a different SSD so that could have contributed too. Back in the CoD: World at War days, the loading screens for multiplayer maps would say something along the lines of, "Runs best on Intel i7" well yeh it probably does but only like 1% better or something. Your rig is just fine.
  21. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    381 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    sure it will, if their cpu resource budget requires a highend chip, they will have no choice but to find a way to increase threadedness

    These games sound like a great case for Mantle.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page