1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

will my cpu bottleneck my graphic card?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jasonchng1987, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. jasonchng1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    core 2 quad 8200 2.33ghz

    foxconn-geforce 7100 n force 630i

    aerocool horsepower 500watt

    his 4870 1gb icoolerx3

    segate 7200.12 500gb

    LG 22x

    Asus TA M11

    kingston PC 2 5300 667mhz-4GB

    Xigmatek Red Scorpion S1283 CPU Cooler
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    One thread per topic, please!
  3. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Yeah I'd think so.
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    its a quad core 8200 so not really but probly a little since the core speed is low, 3.2ghz would make it more even but ideally you'd want to go high

    its not the cpu per say that is the bottleneck its the speed
  5. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    @ 2.33 ghz you bet your ass it is bottlenecked:laugh:
  6. fatguy1992

    fatguy1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    419 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I agree, you need to overlcock that thing to at least around 3GHz. Shouldn't be too hard.
  7. jasonchng1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    oem motherboard
  8. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    with 4870 and cpu run at 2.3ghz yes you have bottleneck , overclock the cpu near 3ghz will be end this
  9. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    i would overclock the cpu aswell, my cpu should run at 2333mhz but i run it at 3000 or 3150mhz 24/7 temps only reach around 50c to under full load :D
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,140 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    yep. you bought a cheap ass quad, when a dual core with higher clocks and more cache would have been the better choice.
    shevanel says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page