1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will my PC bottleneck?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Attix, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    I'm buying this gaming rig off from newegg, I was wondering if it would bottleneck?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883229050R

    Quick Specs:
    AMD Phenom X4 9850(2.5GHz) Quad Core Processor
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 896MB PCI Express Video Card (EVGA GTX 260 Core 216)
    800W PSU
    4GB DDR2 800
    500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM HDD
    Windows Vista Home Premium - 64 Bit

    I was also wondering if it was worth the $799.00 - I sure as hell do, I was just wondering what your guys' take is on it.
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,035 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Looks like a solid build, you should perform quite well..asking on the bottleneck aspect are you talking as-far-as gaming performance? bench performance? overall performance?

    You might not extract the most from the gfx at stock cpu speeds, but a bump to 3ghz would alleviate that, though really that would be more benchmarks than gaming. Depending on the resolution you game at, you might not use as much cpu as you'd expect.

    Not a bad build, 800 bucks isn't shabby, not a steal, but overall a solid build for the cash.
     
  3. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    I could care less about benches, I just want to know if it will play well enough for me to get the maximum power out of the video card without bottlenecking from the hardware installed.

    I play at 1024x768 by the way, I don't take gaming to the extreme, I've always gamed at this resolution, the most I'll be doing is 1280x1024.
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Looks OK, CPU could do better OC'd, but it's a prebuilt. Why not build it? If you think it's hard, it really isn't. I built my rig when I was 15 lol
     
  5. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Yeah' I'm 15, I just want to learn a little bit more until I go for building a rig.
     
  6. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,642 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Looks like a pretty good deal. Only thing I would want to know is what type of DDR2 it has (brand,timings,voltages), and what sort of 800w powersupply.

    I don't think you will get a "bottleneck" if you are meaning that the CPU cant handle the video card. Im sure it can no problem. however you will be able to increase performance across the board with a mild OC.
     
  7. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Newegg doesn't give individual part specifications, according to the picture it is an NXZT 800W PSU.
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I can put a bitchin system together for 800$ on newegg. Just ask and I will give!
     
  9. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Thanks Shadow, but no thanks. I want to try a company build first - the first custom build I use, I want it to be made by me. It's more of a personal thing, ya' know?
     
  10. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,642 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Thats a pretty good powersupply.

    You could build yourself a much nicer PC though. Otherwise its a good deal with a lot of room for upgrades down the road. CPU,RAM pluggin upgrades, and it isn't proprietary so if you wanted you could do a compete motherboard swap fairly easily.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Attix says thanks.
  12. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    I'm not an extreme gamer, I just want a decent computer that can run FEAR, FEAR 2, Gears of War, GTAIV, Crysis, or Farcry 2, at a playable performance, as long as the game isn't laggy as hell and I can play it decently, who cares?

    Your mind doesn't even notice a couple frames bumped up.
     
  13. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Crossfire is just as good as SLi. With the one I linked you can do Crossfire later while still having one of the best CPU's on the market. The Phenom 9850 is older and a lot slower. It gives you a nice upgrade path a great CPU!

    Oh and it's new, the open box most likely wont get a warranty.
     
  15. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,642 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    That is a loaded question. LOL.

    Sounds to me like you are destined to have buyers remorse. It will be a good rig for a couple years, after which you should be able to upgrade it with little problem.
     
  16. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,035 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    With that rig you could game at 1600x1200+, 4-8xaa, 16af in many new games (not including crysis, which would play at 1600x1200, no aa, high settings). You won't even stress the system at 1024x768 and imo it would really be more of a waste...you could buy a rig for half that cost, or close to half that would game fine at 1024x768 or 1280x1024. I would say make your minimum gaming res 1280x1024, maybe go widescreen and game at 1680x1050, which is what I game at, and really my rig runs games great, with or without the OC's.

    1024x768 is low enough that odds are the cpu will be stressed more than the gpu, but a resolution of 1600x1200 will reverse that and have the graphics processed on the gpu itself since there is a higher stress load, the gpu power you have will work fine for the job even at stock. Though gtx260's are solid ocers on stock cooling.

    :toast:
     
  17. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    well that right there is your problem, that build is OVERKILL!!!!!! for that resolution, and due to the resolution being so low the GPU will not be stressed, so technically yes lol that CPU will bottleneck the GPU though performance will be sky high. That rig is perfect for 1680x1050 resolution. for 1024x768-1280x1024 i'd be looking at a 9800GT/9600GT with a c2d/c2q or Phenom II x3. Now if you plan to upgrade your monitor in the future then that system will be perfect to take a higher resolution should you purchase a better monitor down the road

    EDIT: though i recon it's very future proof for that resolution :laugh:
     
  18. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Or I could just buy a new monitor in the near future, I have a 17" FOR NOW. My birthday is coming in August, I'll just grab a 22" or 24" then.
     
  19. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    then yep, that looks like a solid build and for the price it's good as well. Bummer you probly won't be able to OC the cpu, but at 1680x1050 or 1920x1080 the stress will be mostly on your GPU. Get it if your not comfortable with building your own system, though as stated it's fairly simple i also built my first system when i was 15 lol seems to be the age to do it :toast:
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Tellin you, this would be better. Get another 4850 later on, you wont regret it! Even with one, you will still be able to max everything with a 22". I had a 4830 on my 1920x1080 monitor and it maxed everything except Crysis, but I still can't with a 4870..
     
  21. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    That computer is definately complete overkill for 1280x1024. Kursah and a_ump have pretty much covered it all.

    @ Shadow
    I'd pick a Phenom 1 + GTX260 over a PII + 4850. If the PI is a bottleneck (doubt it) then I can crank up the graphics settings and I'm good. You'll prolly hit a 4850's limits before the PII bottlenecks.

    And SLI/CF isn't really an upgrade path. When you want to add the 2nd card a year later, the money is always better spent on a new single card. SLI/CF is a now or never thing imo. I'd give an example, but I gotta take care of something.

    @ Attix
    What can I do to convince you to build? Like Shadow, I was your age when I built my first computer. I only encourage that you build your own, becasue honestly, that system isn't worth $800. Second, you only need like $500 if you build yourself. It's really not as hard as it sounds and if you ever have an issue, just post here and you'll get lots of help. You get sooo much better value if you build yourself. I strongly encourage it even though you don't want to.

    Anyways, if you still decide to buy, that system in your first post looks to be about the best in the price range that I saw in my brief search. However, that mobo is ollldddd.
     
    a_ump says thanks.
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It's not as simple as pumping the graphics up. I used to have a 1024x768 screen too, CPU makes a HUGE difference.
     
  23. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,035 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That or your build will last you for a VERY long time at that resolution! :D

    My Acer 22" at 1680x1050 looks damn good, games play great. Though with a 24" and 1920x1200 or 1920x1080 would be pretty sweet. I will upgrade in the future, but for now I'm pretty damn content. I may just find a higher resolution 22" monitor, it's just about right for my needs.

    If that is your plans, your build will be great. I say go for it, upgrade in the future and enjoy better graphics and yet still a very smooth gaming experience.

    :toast:
     
  24. Attix

    Attix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    I put more research into it dude, I'm gonna roll with the GTX 260 Core 216.
     
  25. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    So your going to build your own?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page