1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will my power supply be good enough for a Gtx470?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by shevanel, May 3, 2010.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I have an EA650 by antec

    +3.3V@25A
    +5V@25A
    +12V1@22A
    +12V2@22A,
    +12V3@25A
    -12V@0.5A
    +5VSB@2.5A

    Do you think this is okay to run a stock GTX 470?
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    should be but i know how those 4xx series cards love power
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    If I'm not mistaken the GTX 470 takes 40amps, 20 each from 2 of the 12v rails, so you should be fine as long as your not planning for it to power your house. lol.
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
    shevanel says thanks.
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    If you're looking for an excuse to upgrade your PSU, you could do a lot worse than get a Corsair HX850W. ;)

    I got this one after seeing several superlative reviews, such as this one at overclock3d.net

    I'm no longer a fan of Antec, after experiencing two failed PSUs and my friends also seeing several failures. This is over an extended period of time too, so isn't just a "bad batch".
    Animalpak and shevanel say thanks.
  5. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Like you need an excuse to get new toys anyways, Shev....:roll::laugh:
    shevanel says thanks.
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    I'm sure it will be enough for gtx 470 not so sure for the gtx 480 though.
    shevanel says thanks.
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    It'll definitely be fine for a GTX470, hell, probably even a GTX480, but if you're looking to upgrade you could do a lot worse than a True Power New 750w, Corsair HX750w/HX850w, or an XFX 750w/850w Black Edition.
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ok thanks folks. I appreciate the reassurance. I'm gonna wait a bit longer before throwing a new PSU in the cart.
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    W1z's chart tells us that it takes 232w max, at 12v it requires 19.3A. I think it will be fine, since under load it will take in 14.25A.
    shevanel says thanks.
  10. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    listen to qubit... I think you can also take a PSU of 750 watts without spending alot of money.


    if you're thinking of taking a GTX 470 your purchase will a safe and durable.

    So your investment will bring you profit
    qubit says thanks.
  11. toy4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm running a 470 off a Seasonic M12 500W PSU. No issues at all. I think the power requirements are overstated. I've not hit more than 370W during any games/3DMark that I've thrown at it.

    Of course who knows what will happen if/when other games come out. But right now I can stick with what I have.
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That will be more than plenty Shev. If you can find out the rail distribution and don't overclock heavily you may be good for 470 SLI.
  13. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    Anyone know how much power 2x 470s will suck down in SLI? I got a Seasonic X-750 and hoping that I won't need to upgrade.
  14. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Why does so many people think that? It doesn't take 40 amps, it needs a PSU with that amount of amps on the 12v rails(s) which is very different. 40 amps at 12v is 12*40= 480 watts and the card sucks an absolute maximum of about 230w.
  15. crush3r

    crush3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    ebolamonkey3 says thanks.
  16. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    yeah that ea650 ran the 470 just fine.
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    False. That is reccomended for the entire SYSTEM.

    Correct. I know its an inaccurate KillaWatt, but please look at my system power consumption while running these benchmarks...

    http://www.overclockers.com/gtx-470-mini-review/
  18. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    People think that, because that is what reads on the box and on manufacturers site. They really should say how much just the card needs to avoid confusion.

    But then again that would mean almost every PSU has enough AMPs if you'd use it just to power the card, which is not the reality :)
  19. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Yep.

    Only read the first post in this thread, but ^^ there's your answer.
  20. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    It doesn't say that. It says it needs a 550w PSU with 40A on the 12v rail. How that equates to the card using 40A is beyond me.

    They can't say how much the card needs, because some people would be stupid enough to look at the number and use a single rail 25A PSU not only with the GPU, but with 5 case fans, 3 HDD, 2 burners...

    Oh btw this just remembered me one of the ultimate reasons why I think Semiaccurate is a bad bad joke.

    http://www.semiaccurate.com/2010/03/01/fermi-power-requirements-leak/

    I mean come on... I have just answered my first post in this thread: no wonder normal users can think that, when a site supposedly (and it's a lot of supposing on our part) feeding us tech related info makes the same mistake, because it fails to know such a simple thing.
    Last edited: May 20, 2010
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,519 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,043
    I think it's going to explode in spectacular fashion, and I for one want video;) :roll:

    As has been said, you are gonna be fine. Im actually running your old 470 with mine on this 1000W. I see no issues with that PSU powering a third of what I have going
  22. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I didn't go and look what it said, manufacturers been saying it like that for years. Now it seems to be more clear:

    • 550W PCI Express®-compliant system power supply with a combined 12V current rating of 46A or more

    That's from Club3D GTX 470. http://www.club3d.nl/products/products_ending_page_7_with_id.cfm?product_id=321

    Now earlier cards say it like this:
    GTX 275 http://www.club3d.nl/products/products_ending_page_7_with_id.cfm?product_id=230
    • Minimum 550Watt or greater system power supply (with a minimum 12V current rating of 40A)

    GTX 260 http://www.club3d.nl/products/products_ending_page_7_with_id.cfm?product_id=209
    • 550Watt (12V/ 36A) or greater Power Supply

    ^^ if you look at the above, it's not that hard to assume you'd need 36A for the card.

    I know when I got my x1900xt and it had a amperage requirement in the specs, I thought exactly that. That was luckily years ago and now I know better + it reads better.
  23. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    nvidia's site list the 470 as having a max power draw of 215watts. now since "watts = amps x volts", we can figure 215w / 12v = ~18amps

    so after adding up your amps for the 12v devices on one rail, add 18-20 to that for the minimum amps you need on the rail with the video card.

    edit, so 2 of these in sli would be ~36-40amps (adding up to 2a per card for some overclocking)
  24. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    marketing ploy i guess.

    just like all the "fermi approved" Pc cases. pfft. phsyX-ish type marketing

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page