1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will my q6600 with PCI 2.0 support GTX 670 2GB or 4GB

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by razor2890, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hey Guys....

    Here is my PC specs:
    Processor & mobo : Intel core 2 quad Q6600 @ 2.4GHz / DG33FB
    RAM : DDR2 Kingston 2 GB
    HDD : 250GB WD
    Graphic Card : XFX Geforce 9600GT 512MB

    I was thinking about upgrading to i7 3770K with p68 mobo... but along with gtx670 it cost like hell....

    So I was thinking if I could just Upgrade my Graphics now then maybe a few months later will buy a new processor & MOBO ..
    If I cant use GTX 670 or higher... then what highest quality Graphic card is compatible with my system.....

    Also I have a power supply of corsair 500W v2

    And if I can use 670 is it worth the money... or should i go for 680 or 690?? I think 690 would not work on my mobo....
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    they should all work in ur mb, depends on ur psu ofc, if u don't got enough juice there u will run into problems ^^

    maybe takes the GTX 670 bcs of the price and if u buy one with a custom pcb u can oc a little or get a factory overclocked card ^^
    razor2890 says thanks.
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Your mobo can handle them all, but your psu can't I would go for the 670.
    Of course they all will be bottle-necked until you upgrade your proc/mobo.
    razor2890 and INSTG8R say thanks.
  4. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    thanks for replying so fast....

    So what will be the ideal power requirement for GTX 670 with my specs instead of 9600GT....

    In nvidia website Power req for 670 is 500W and for 9600GT it is 400W(Recommended is 600W)..... So will it cause overheating of my proc and mobo and card??
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Don't cheap out on the psu, it is the building block of your computer, and will allow for future upgrades. Make sure it is an 80+ certified unit, very important. I would start with at least a 650w unit, but a bigger unit will allow for more expansion. It's your choice of course. Spend a bit of money up front, and you won't have to worry for years... get something like this:
    http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=58382&vpn=CMPSU-750TXV2&manufacture=Corsair
    razor2890 says thanks.
  6. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    i bought my PSU only about a month or 2 ago because my UPS was 600VA o/p...
    If my PSU is going to be a problem then i can upgrade my proc & mobo first as i have Graphic card...

    So any suggestions as far as proc & mobo are concerned??
    I would go for best proc(not extreme edition) & mobo..... and then upgrade my PSU and Graphic card later on....
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well I'm sure people can give you specific recommendations, but generally, I'd say a 2500k sandy bridge cpu and a compatible motherboard. It'll blow away what you have now. Don't forget to add DDR3 ram to that as well.
    razor2890 says thanks.
  8. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Near North Pole
    The GTX 670 should be ok with your PSU.

    If you o/c your CPU to at least 3GHz you'll be fine with only a little bottleneck.
    razor2890 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Well for the PSU no lower than 550W but I would go for 650w+

    This would be my suggested upgrade path.

    Also what is your current case? From the mobo you suggested I'm guessing maybe a pre built Dell or some other brand?

    EDIT:Here is what I can do in less than 5min. If you need to save more money I can check every combo to find good deals.
    EDIT2: I just noticed your from India I'm not for sure what places to buy from there, but if you can find these parts thats what I would even buy(I'm also on the Q6600 as it does everything I need it to do)


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
    razor2890 says thanks.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,699 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Assuming when you say "Corsair 500w v2" you mean a CX500 V2, your PSU would have no problem handling a GTX670 with the rest of your system. The CX500 V2 is actually a pretty decent PSU, it has a very strong 12v rail. The 12v rail on the CX500 is 34A, I've seen 600w units with only 24A on the 12v rail, so don't let the 500w rating decieve you, the CX500 is a damn powerful unit.
    AlienIsGOD and razor2890 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,411 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    Location:
    Mexico
    Just go with a 660ti. If you were happy with a 9600GT until now then the 660 wil blow you away while staying cooler and saving you money compared to the 670.

    500w is plenty nowadays. I don't see the need to upgrade your PSU right now unless you have like 6> hard drives and a ton of fans. I used to power a QX6700@2.93, HD3850 @ 811/1200, 4GB DDR1 (2.5v), a PPU, sound card, SATA card, Firewire card, 5 fans and 3 HDDs with a 500w ST50FES (specs similar to those of the Corsair CX500).

    You could breathe some more life into your rig if you get a cheap (<$150) Q9550 but for your next upgrade you should consider a new build.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
    razor2890 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    are u absolutely sure that 670 will not bottleneck my system??

    So if i go for 670 what cooling system should i use.... right now there are only 2 fans 1 on Mobo and another on PSU.....
    I noticed that 670 is only about 50-70$ cheaper than 680... So should i go for 670 or 680
  13. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12

    Thanks for the detailed info... thanks a lot!!
  14. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Whats your budget? I can suggest better stuff, but I'm trying to keep it cheap.(I'm more in to $2,500+ builds)

    An Corsair H100 or H80 is nice to give your computer a basic watercooling. It depends on your case to what we can fit in it.
    And yes your current PSU can run the 670, but its getting close to its limit I always try and leave 100w of spare room

    Time for bed for me its 12:30 AM, will be back later.
    razor2890 says thanks.
  15. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I bought Corsair CX 500W v2 just a month ago.. So i will not be able to spend on it...
    will H100 or H80 be compatible with my mobo DG33FB?? i could not find it listed as compatible in this link...
    http://www.flipkart.com/corsair-h80...CREQ&ref=e28ed797-88b4-40bd-91f8-c2d9cfbca729
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Its should be compatible with any LGA 775 motherboard. But I would get it when you get your nice new mobo. plus for those coolers you will need a case that can support either 120 or a 240 radiator. Whats your current computer case??
    razor2890 says thanks.
  17. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    So i cannot use it on my mobo ....
    can i operate 670 on my current sys.. without any other cooling sys.. other than my psu and cpu fan?
  18. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    You should DEFINITELY have some fans on your case. Bare minimum if possible an Intake at the front to suck in cool air and an Exhaust fan on the back of the case to suck warm air out of your case. I would not be putting a 670 in a case without proper ventiliation/cooling.

    What case are you using and do you have the option to add fans to it? Your current "fans" are there to cool what they are attached to(CPU and PSU) They aren't for cooling your case.
  19. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    The name on the case says UMAX.

    What kind of cooling system can my mobo support?? (DG33FB)
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
  20. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    It's not your motherboard cooling that is the concern. It's getting some fans in your case. The Mobo has fan headers so that's not an issue.

    Could you possibly find me a link or picture of your case?

    The only MoBo cooling to consider would be a better CPU cooler if you had planned to overclock your CPU(If your BIOS allows it) You would be looking for a Socket 775 compatible cooler.
  21. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    http://www.umaxindia.in/powercasecasing.html

    All the casings are same except for design... Mine is exactly similar to this ... Full Tower cases...
  22. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Which model? I just get a list there.
  23. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    453 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Finland
    Razer, get a 660Ti and save for a complitely new build. Your current system is about 5 years old so i'd just upgrade the graphics card now and when your budged allows, start a complitely new build (motherboard/cpu/ram and maybe a new case). The 660Ti is pretty the 670 but doesnt cost as much. And im quite certain it will be plently of horse power for what ever your gaming needs are. Its certainly quite a leap from the 9600gt
  24. razor2890

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    every cabinet is the same just different design... mine is similar to it... its 5 years old.. so not in production..
  25. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well those pictures weren't really that much help anyway other than to establish it's a "standard" case.

    Maybe you could take the side panel of your case and take a few pictures. I mean I can "assume" it will have a place at the back for a 120mm fan(but could be 80mm) There "may" be somewhere in the front of the case for an intake fan. But that's just guessing ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page