1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will NOT boot...

Discussion in 'General Software' started by mod2max, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. mod2max

    mod2max New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    System: Sony VAIO VGN-AW31S/B
    Preinstalled OS: Windows Vista

    :banghead:

    So I was installing Windows 7 on this laptop, was going smoothly, all drivers, updates, VAIO utilities and software was installed. Basically a fully complete reinstall.

    I then began to take files off my removable HDD, was all going fine, but half way through the 80 odd GB transfer BSOD flashed and then it restarted. :nutkick:

    After the BSOD I let it reset itself and reboot, selected normal boot, the "Starting Windows" and "Microsoft Corporation" text come up followed by the windows logo, waited a minute or so then BSOD came up again... It hasn't been able to boot since. :eek:

    Now when you boot normally the "Starting Windows" and "Microsoft Corporation" text come up, but not the 4 balls that fly in to present the windows logo. When you boot into safe mode, you just a black screen. When doing both these things the HDD light is showing activity but nothing ever happens.

    I've tried: Startup Repair (I did this twice, second time was ALOT longer, but both times it did nothing), CHKDSK <mountpoint>: /f (this gets stuck at 66% on "stage 2 of 3" but HDD still shows activity), SFC/SCANNOW (this just says it's already pending, and it will run when windows boots... or something). :confused:

    To make this worse I have no images or restore points to fall back on :shadedshu

    I do have Paragon Rescue Kit 11 which I have yet to try but I don't really know what I can do whith it tbh, and a mate of mine has LiveBoot. Not exactly sure what LiveBoot is cause I've never used it, but he says it might help...

    Cheers to anyone that can help, I am completely lost...
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,360 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,227
    Location:
    Oregon
    Just start over
     
  3. mod2max

    mod2max New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thats what im trying to avoid...
     
  4. mjkmike

    mjkmike

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,566 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,559
    Location:
    Alberta,Canada
    Sounds like the lap is overheating. Clean all vents and put it on a flat surface and as Jester says try again.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. mod2max

    mod2max New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    116 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    UPDATE

    - If you select normal boot at just leave it, after a while it will just reset without any BSOD. (Does this on a loop)

    - CHKDSK actually ran and completed the test, but made no difference.

    HDD is now plugged into my PC where I am running SFC on it, now when it goes back in the laptop SFC won’t be pending to run... I hope.

    I should point out that the install on the laptop is Windows 7 SP1 (cause of updates), so would using a retail disk that isn't SP1 to repair it cause damage?

    All the data is intact, still cannot unable why it refuses to boot. It's too easy to just 'reinstall' that doesn't help others with a similar situation.
     
  6. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Similar thing

    I had a similar thing the other day, pc crashed and then wouldn't boot into anything no bios or anything, just black screen. Looked in the box, all is on and running but nothing on the screen. Switched cards from nvidia to amd and nothing. Did a complete rebuild, new ram, new cpu, new hdd/ssd and no dice. The lights are on but noones home. Changed the mobo and back in action.
    I believe the original crash was caused by malware. However something is blocking the graphics display ro a least the mobos ability function. It's a top board, be sorry to have to dump it.
     
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,360 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,227
    Location:
    Oregon
    Slow is fast ...Obviously something went south during the process. Sometimes its just easier to take the long route
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,710 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,229
    The real question is what made you want to put the OS on the lappy in the first place? Sounds to me like there was an issue you were hoping a new OS would solve.

    I would start with memtest86+ in DOS to verify the ram, and run all sorts of testing on that HDD for bad sectors or a corrupted MBR.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page