1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

will the radeon HD 3850 work with my system?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by arabian_dev, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. arabian_dev New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I just sold my Geforce 7800gt to buy a HD 3850

    but I read from some sites compatibility issues because of PCI-E v.2.0

    and I have an MSI nforce4 K8N Neo4 motherboard and I have no Idea what version of PCIe it has on it.

    What should I do?

    If it doesn't work in my system What's the best video card I can get for the sub 200$ price?
     
  2. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    i would say buy another mobo mostly because your mobo is 939 (if i remember correctly) so even if you can use the card you will have huge bottleneck from cpu (which i don't know which is it) but on the comparability i realy don't thing there are gona be any conflict/issue...
     
  3. arabian_dev New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't think I'll be able to change my mobo and cpu

    it'll cost me too much

    I'm not spending more than 200$ on this current upgrade
     
  4. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    i really don't thing there is gonna be any problem since pci-x 2 devices is working on pci -x controllers.

    i just noted the old mobo for you to understand that you might see very little perfomance gains because of the old mobo/cpu so you don't thing there is a problem later
     
    arabian_dev says thanks.
  5. arabian_dev New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah I know my CPU is 3500+ a single core 2.2 Ghz CPU

    nothing compared to newer CPUs

    and I know that the HD 3850 should be triple the performance of my current card (in 3dmark)

    but getting a 50% to 100% performance gain is good enough for me
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,612 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    Hey von there was a post a few weeks back that had a link from ASUS in it which said something along the lines....in order to run a PCI 2.0 card there needed to be a PCI 1.1a vs a PCI 1.0a slot on the mobo. A simple email or phone call to the mobo manufacturer should verify the type of slot on the OP's mobo!
     
    von kain says thanks.
  7. -=CrAnSwIcK=- New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    all you gotta do is overclock the shyt out of your CPU...should have gona dual core a while back...3 months ago i got an athlon 64 X2 3800+ for 60$ on tigerdirect.com...not much cheaper than the AM2 equivilent, but decent for s939 considering it's an older platform...

    anyways, overclock your CPU my friend, and you will not bottleneck your new GPU...
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    We found that to be bs yesturday/ They will work in any PCI-E slot.
     
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the 939 platform wont hold u back much either.. i just moved from a 939 single core sandy at 3 gig to a similar speed x2 6000+ am2 platform..

    with my 1900xtx the gaming performance was very similar.. the 3870 will be a nice cheap upgrade..

    irrespective of what u read where low frame rates are concerned the grafix card is still the king.. a faster system will give u faster highs and a faster average.. but its the grafix card that controls the all important lows..

    also irespective of what u read multicore chips dont really help game performance.. faster single core will still beat out a slower dual or quad.. shame they stopped making em.. he he

    if my single core sandy could manage 3.25 gig back in mid 2006.. just imagine what they could have tweaked it to now..

    the games that claim to make use of multicore chips only spread the load between the cores.. they dont run both cores flat out..

    trog
     
  10. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    By your logic trog, explain how my single core 3200+ at 2.8 was tons slower in just about every game vs my opty170 at 2.0?


    I would buy the 3850 and see if it works, if not sell it on the forums here and buy a card that will. You will be horribly cpu limited in many instances while gaming unless you either over clock your cpu, upgrade to a dual, or do both.
     
  11. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    dunno kenny.. but back in the days when single core was king.. the FX57 clocked at 2.8 gig still beat out the replacement king the FX60 a dual clocked at 2.6 gig where games were concerned..

    amd made the decision that the future was dual core and the old king was dead..

    i ran load of tests back then and whether i clocked my amd chip at 3 gig or its default 2.4 i couldnt tell the difference in games.. which is why i still say that when it come down to it the grafix card is king..

    a faster system will turn 150 fps into 200 fps.. but it wont turn 15 into 20.. and its the 15s that need improving not the 150s..

    seeing the average is the con.. u need to see the lows to make sense.. most cpu gaming benchmark just show the average.. and average which is boosted by the faster system simply increasing the highs..

    trog
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page