1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will there be a bottleneck?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by BradleyKZN, Mar 25, 2009.

?

Will there be a bottleneck

Poll closed Mar 28, 2009.
  1. YES!

    2 vote(s)
    7.4%
  2. No

    25 vote(s)
    92.6%
  1. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Hi guys, I wanna get a Q9400 but will it be good enough for my 4870 or will it be a bottleneck?
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No, not really. That's actually a pretty good combo, go for it!
     
    BradleyKZN says thanks.
  3. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    It would be enough.
     
    BradleyKZN says thanks.
  4. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    there might be a slight bottleneck, and i mean slight, but you can always bump it up a lil to get rid of that pesky bottleneck
     
    BradleyKZN says thanks.
  5. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Wicked guys, and would it be easy to get it to 3GHZ on stock voltages and cooling as my board cant adjust voltages
     
  6. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    oh another Q, just how bad will the bottleneck be with a Q8200?
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,364 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,590
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    Q8200 has less cache, therefore it will need more MHz.

    I wouldnt want to run any less than 3GHz, if i were you.
    If your board cant even adjust voltages... get another board.
     
    BradleyKZN says thanks.
  8. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Lol cant afford another one, getting a new board would mean getting an E7500, I do swaps though if anyone wants a useless board :D
     
  9. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    My 4830 is bottlenecking my Q6600 when OC'ed above 3ghz. You should have no problems with your Q9400 and 4870 and will see almost linear scalable improvement if you OC your CPU.
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    As Mussles said, that's not really a good CPU. An E7400/E8400 would perform better than Q8200 because of the low cache and slow clock speeds.
     
  11. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,876 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    the cache is still pretty low on the Q9400, half the cache on the Q9450. Get a Q9450 or go dual with e8400+ for gaming. Im still willing to bet the Q6600 will perform better than the Q9400.
     
  12. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    The cache on the Q9400 is lower and thats whats worrying me, I have asked this before but will higher L2 cache make everything appear smoother even if its running at 100fps?
     
  13. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    And the Q9450 has gone out of production, so has the E8400 in fact, now the prices for those chips are ridiculously high
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The Q9400 is an awesome CPU, while it only has half the cache of the Q9450, it's still going to give you a great experiance. If you really want a great budget chip grab a Phenom II 720 and a 790GX board.
     
  15. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    So its still going to be visually quick?
     
  16. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    for close to the same price as that 720 I can get an E8400 and then I still gotta get the mobo and new RAM as well.
     
  17. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    You should save your pennies and get the Q9450 or Q6600 if you want to get more RAM.
     
  18. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    Yes, still visually quick with any of those CPUs
     
  19. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,591 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,554
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    the e8400 hasn't gone out of production and the price hasn't changed for it in months, still $165 on newegg and available. Btw, I have a e8400 for sale for $125 shipped. Bet you could get a new motherboard with the extra money then. ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You won't need new ram with a 720. It's got an unlocked multipler so you wouldn't have to mess with the ram speeds at all. The e8400 doesn't even come close to it's performance tho..
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,191 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    actually gaming performance, you actually fullfilled the 4830s needs by OCing the CPU, Im sure overall Apps load alot quicker, even games.
     
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,398 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,409
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    A 720 and 8400 clock about the same on average and the 720 is a newer model and has an extra core, and as far as I know the 8400 is still about $20 more than a 720. Would be a better choice, but if you already got the 9400 clock what you can out of it.
     
  23. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,876 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    1 word - Qninetyfivefifty.
     
  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Thats not a word, its not in the dictionary.
     
  25. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Its funny you should mention the word Qninetyfivefifty because that is just wat i shall be getting! I have also found an incredibly cheap crossfire mobo that will support ddr 2 1066 which i will get in a few months :D :D :D but about that mobo, does anybody have anything to say about an asus p5kpl1600 or any reviews of it?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page