1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will these fit in crossfire?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Paulieg, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I need to replace the cooling on 2 4850's that I just bought. I'm thinking of replacing them with the AC S1 Rev2 cooler, but I'm concerned that they won't fit in crossfire. I don't want to order them, and be wrong. Do you guys think these will fit OK in my setup. Here's a link to the coolers, my board, and my case. Keep in mind that my WC rad is installed in the bottom of the case.

    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/arcoacs1.html
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=10010003
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119160
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Which slots are the Crossfire slots? The Blue ones?

    When I had the S1 it used up 2 and a half slots with the S1 and the turbo fan kit. I rigged up 2 120mms to the S1 to get better cooling and it took up 3 slots.
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    It is the blue slots. I plan to run them passive, since there is a 240mm side fan for airflow. Think it will fit?
  4. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    I don't think it'll fit. The PCI-E connectors are just too far apart. Because of the cooler, your crossfire cable has to be over it before reaching the other gpu.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Take the plastic bits off and the S1 is no taller than the card.

    I think it will fit, quite easily.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Can anyone confirm or deny this? :)

    What about the crossfire connector? It seems connecting the cards might be a PITA? Thoughts?
  7. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    As you can see the cooler is of 32nm height. Plus it protrudes out of at least 8nm. What's the length of your card?
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    The longer crossfire bridges should work. If I'm right, there should be a 5 slot length version. (i think)
    Paulieg says thanks.
  9. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Btw paul, the cooler seems to take up 2.5 slot of the PCI. So you might want to measure it for the 2nd 4850 (the one nearer to your WC radiator.)

    Really?
    Paulieg says thanks.
  10. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I dont know if he is referring to the second revision of the S1..

    this was referring to the second revision.

    Just some stuff google turned up. I think it will work but you need to "make" it work.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  11. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
  12. Nosada

    Nosada

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    247 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Connecting a crossfire connector is no problem. The sides of the Accelero look like they are made out of a solid piece of aluminum, but actually it's just each fin that's bent downwards. You can easily slip in a crossfire connector without any issue.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  13. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
  14. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
  15. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Paulieg says thanks.
  16. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Heheh, so I see, I never thought of doing it that way.
    Paulieg says thanks.
  17. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Actually, the Asus board came with the lond flexible crossfire bridge. Thanks guys.
  18. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I saw you say you wanted to run these passive... I hope you're kidding.
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    LOL. Yes and No. I ran a 8800GT with one of these about a year ago. Even overclocked, with good case airflow, I really didn't need a fan attached. My HAF has both a 240mm front and side fan, along with excellent cable management. I bet the S1 with good case airflow will cool the cards better than the stock coolers do. Wanna bet?;)
  20. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I know the HAF side fan can keep those cool. They have such a large fin array that a fat lady within 3 meters could break enough wind too keep them cool. I think you should still mount some fans and vmod the 4850s.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Paulie, whats the max res of that 20"? Just curious so you dont have issues running a single bridge.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page