1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will this be a good all round system, casual gamer mainly total war games

Discussion in 'Games' started by Dovah88, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. Dovah88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [B]Intel BX80637I53330 i5-3330 3.0GHz LGA1155 IVY

    AsRock Z77-Pro4-M Intel Z77/4xDDR3/SATA3/USB3.0/HDMI/DVI/GLan/mATX Motherboard or ASUS P8Z77-M mATX Motherboard

    Patriot IEM Blue PVI38G160C9K 8G Kit(4Gx2) DDR3 1600

    Seagate 3.5" Barracuda 500GB ST500DM002 SATA3

    ASUS Black/24x DVD-RW Writer Retail Packing

    Amd Radeon 6670 or Amd Radeon 1GB 7770

    Thermaltake VO700A1N3N Versa II USB3.0 Tower Case with 500W PSU

    Microsoft MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM


    This is just for the tower as i already have screen, keyboard, mouse and speakers.[/B]
    Just need a upgrade from my old tower

    any suggestions or comments would be great just need to know if it will all fit together:) Pls reply if you can
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
  2. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Dovah88 says thanks.
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    6670 is a god awful graphics card. It's also important to note that Total War is a CPU intensive game as opposed to requiring massive amounts of gpu power.
    Also i dont quite understand your post. Is the top what you already have, or is the bottom what you already have and are thinking about upgrading to what you've put at the top?
    Fill in System Specs under User CP so we can clear that one up.

    EDIT: read it about 5 times and finally understand. That CPU will want upgrading to fit into the z77 board, as it's a little lackluster. Nothing except the HDD will fit into your new desired system so i dont see why youd want to fit it together. Also you need xp 64bit or windows 7/8 64bit to make use of more than 4gb of memory
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
  4. Dovah88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok should be all fixed up now sorry first time building a comp don't want super powerful just so i can play the strategy games occasionly like total war on high to ultra not first person shooters or any others.
     
  5. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Just noticed you included a 7770 in your possibilities, which would be much better than the 6670. The CPU listed will physically fit, but is roughly the power of the old 2400. Bumping it up to something more like a 2500k or beyond would take an aftermarket CPU cooler and as bit of OCing. That takes a fine balance of voltage RAM and CPU clock settings on such a CPU, vs a mere multiplier bump as per k type CPUs, which can be difficult for some new to OCing.
     
    Dovah88 says thanks.
  6. Dovah88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    so my setup is fine, i don't mind about the cpu i think it will be powerful enough for what i want to do but i can always upgrade later and might upgrade Vga card later too but i just need to know if it will work
     
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    If you go with the 6670, switch platforms to Trinity AMD A10-5800K/A85 motherboard. You could crossfire the 6670 with the on die 7660D for much better graphics. You would be foolish to go core i3 and 6670 over Trinity in this case. 4x better graphics/ equal CPU performance. You can still upgrade graphics if you want and have a better build.
     
    Jetster and Dovah88 say thanks.
  8. Dovah88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes but i would prefer to go with intel processor plus motherboard and the i5 3rd gen should be plenty i think for the games that i want to play being strategy total war games not hardcore
     
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,251
    Location:
    Oregon
    But for this budget the AMD A10-5800K + a 6670 in dual graphics mode will be notably better. Unless you plan on buying a better GPU later
     
    Dovah88 says thanks.
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    He can upgrade GPU with Trinity too and be equal performance as the i5 3330

    Your making a poor choice. graphics will be over 4 x better with Trinity. Your i5 3330 plus 6670 will have very poor performance. Very poor. CPU ain't gonna make that combo bettrer than sub par.
     
  11. Dovah88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ok i will have to look into don't really no much about amd boards or cpus but ty
     
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I will give you a head to head I did with Trinity vs i3. Hold on
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,392
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Go with an Nvidia card. Crazyeyes from the forums went Nvidia after being with AMD and got a major boost in performance in Total War games apparently.
     
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,251
    Location:
    Oregon
    Absolutely, but if he just insist on Intel its not a performance hit in the upper price range. But in the lower price range the AMD make more sense
     
    Dovah88 says thanks.
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Here is Intel's Graphics on i3 3220 vs Trinity A10-5800K crossfired with a 6670:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/CODstandalone_zps42858fe1.png[/

    [IMG]http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/AvPstandalone_zps3dabae0e.png
     
    Dovah88 says thanks.
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,251
    Location:
    Oregon
    No question AMD owns the budget market
     
    Dovah88 says thanks.
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,392
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,182 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    For Total War titles you need Intel anyone that tells your otherwise doesnt play the game or understand its short comings

    for Shogun Total War and Medieval Total War (originals) you will want an AMD GPU
    for Rome Total War / Medieval 2 Total War / Empire Total War / Napoleon Total War / Shogun 2 Total War either brand will work.

    Regardless for total war games everyone in this thread has their heads buried in their asses.

    get an Intel i5 3570k with a cheap Z77 board, clock it to around 4.2 to 4.4 GHz and you will maintain 30fps at all times during battles

    hell going from Sandybridge i5 2500k at 4.4ghz to an i5 3570k at 4.4ghz offers a 20% boost on the minimum frame rates.

    The game is heavily CPU limited due to lack of multi threading. Not only that but the Fall of the Samurai DLC actually lowered graphics settings for EVERYONE making the game easier to run in terms of GPU requirements

    GPU wise Shogun 2 needs 2GB of Vram and in that regard at 1080p a 7850 would be the best option, that said, a 7770 1gb can get close to maxing the game graphically, leaving shadows on medium and keeping AA off is the key.
     
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    When I did the head to head I didn't know he existed. LOL Trinity coupled with a 6670 owns Intels 2500 graphics by 2-4x.

    LOL I think you have your head up your pooper. read the thread. It is past his budget. You obviously don't understand AMD A10-5800K with 6670 out performs the i5 3300 with Intel's 2500 by a boatload. In every game.
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,225 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,392
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I might be blind, but he never gave a budget, so it is kind of hard for any of use to give him any recommendations. OP whats your budget, because id be a bit worried about what quality PSU that case comes with too.
     
  21. Dovah88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    24 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    500-600$ 700 max
     
  22. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I really don't care to know him after the uncalled for comment.:laugh:

    Here is the Head to Head core i3 vs. A10-5800K for the op. Now, the core i5 3330 will be a bit better than the i3 3220 but this tells a lot.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=182099&highlight=3220

    Plus the i5 3330 is not overclockable, if that makes a difference.
     
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,182 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    Fact is Total war runs like shit on AMD

    I dont care if you have crossfire his AVG god damn framerate will be 17-22 fps during battles still unplayable even with crossfire due to CPU limitation

    3330p + 7770 is the best bet for Total War games.
     
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I agree the 7770 will be better but again, read the thread. He is going with 6670. LOL:slap:
     
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,182 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    A10 5800k performance in Shogun 2 CPU bench which means far more than the GPU bench as the game is single threaded it bottlenecks

    IGP 7660D
    [​IMG]

    Intel i7 3770k stock 1155
    2x 7950s
    [​IMG]

    doesnt matter even if he goes with your suggestion its fail the CPU is the limitation in that title. crossfire wont fix that
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page