1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

will this tv tuner work?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by frankie827, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,318 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    so you are running the signal through the coverter box then to the tuner?

    If so I assume any would work. But you will need to change the channels with the converter box.

    If you have the line split you just need to have two things.

    1 a HD tuner
    2 if you run Vista be very sure the tuner is compatible.

    It seems to me both of those are capable of getting it done.

    I personally just got a ATI 650 tuner off ebay that works with windows7 even for about $55. No remote or anything, card only, but MC in Windows7 works just fine!
     
  3. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    "Hauppauge turns your PC into an HDTV with their WinTV-HVR-1600. This PCI card has two tuners: NTSC, and ATSC/Clear QAM, plus an FM tuner so you can listen to the radio. The NTSC tuner is a 125 channel cable ready tuner for all of your standard over the air broadcasts or regular cable TV. The ATSC/clear QAM tuner supports all 18 ATSC formats including 1080i. You can watch the programming live or record it to disk as an MPEG-2 program stream."
     
  4. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    couldnt i just connect the cable out jack from the cable box to the cable in jack on the tv tuner card?
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,318 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    yes but then it only plays what channel the box is set to. You want to split the signal prior to it connecting to the in side of the converter box!
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,773 (12.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    If you want to actually use the tuner on the TV card just hook up the cable directly.
     
  7. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    so lets say i want to record something on a channel besides the one i am currently on, will it be able to record that?
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,318 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    no
    please see edit above to do what you want!
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,773 (12.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    It depends on the software that is included with the TV card. Most likely yes.
     
  10. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    how about if i'm using windows media center?
     
  11. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    but then i cant get the "special" channel that arent available over normal cable
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,773 (12.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    It does say that it's compatable with Windows Media Center so that would be a yes.
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,318 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    I just did this frankie with window7 and an older tuner not being compatable.

    Just get a card, a splitter and two lenghts of cable.(one long enought to get to the converter box from the splitter, Im guessing this can be short. Then a long bit to get it to your PC. Split the end from the wall before it hits the box.)

    Install the card and hook up the cable. Install drivers off of disc. restart.
    Tick the icon for MC and it will ask you to do a setup....location....cable provider...blah blah blah.
    Restart I think it will want you too anyways.

    Return and open MC turn it on live TV and start watching....your recoreding features are all indide MC.
     
  14. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    wouldn't you prefer cheaper alternatives?
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,318 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    Yes there are deffinately cheapper alternatives, but as I have seen you do seem to get what you pay for.

    Also an image to help explain what Im on about with splitting the lines.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    nice drawing skills on computer :O btw, always look at reviews.... helps alot to choose your card
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,318 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    if only I could write better freehand!:)
     
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    hey thread starter... would you mind paying more for a better quality card or you want a cheaper alternative but less quality? what is your budget?

    I just hate drawing... even on a computer... I cant even do straight lines with the straight line tool!!!!!!!
     
  20. Clutch442

    Clutch442 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woodhaven, New York
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    good advice ^^ but you get what you pay for :p
     
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,318 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,833
    My original was a Kword 883 IIRC, it also was meh in quality, but it still served its purpose. Nothing Id want to record off of though either.
     
  23. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    well my price range is from 80-100 and i would like it to be HD and from newegg
    those are the only 1 that i found that i kinda liked
    but im open to other suggestions
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page