1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

will this Video Card and Motherboard work together.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Cooldog, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    yes
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  3. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    you sure, i got it and its not working.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    ...sounds like you are trying to ask a trick question.

    Why shouldnt it work? Unless you are talking about the CLEARANCE between the passive heatsinks on the chipset mb, and on the GPU.

    I think there could be a problem, Houston.

    I'd go for a different arrangement.
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  5. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    i don't know, but its not working, just wanting to know it they should work together.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  6. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia

    Give us some more information, is the system booting?
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    how exactly is it not working? like what are the symptoms?

    also, you have the card fully inserted to the slot and secured down and have a 6 pin pci-e power cable attached to it right?
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  8. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    If i turn it on it starts the computer but nothing is coming up on the monitor.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  9. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    oh theres a power cable. didnt see it with it.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Please give us full system specs. What monitor? what input type? Does it show post and then blanks when loading an OS?

    EDIT:didnt see post above^^
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    This mainboard has onboard graphics.

    1./ Attach the monitor cable to the mainboard VGA socket.

    2./ Boot. Can you see something?

    3./ Now go to BIOS settings and turn OFF the onboard display (or at least make it second priority).

    4./ Save and turn off the PC

    5./ Install the new GPU (and power cable) and boot

    Voilá!
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  12. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    ok ill try that
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  13. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    did it work after you plugged in the 6 pin cable?
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  14. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    Nothing is showing up on the monitor evening without the new video card in and everything is plugged in all the way.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2008
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    After disabling onboard video install the video card.
     
    saadzaman126 and Cooldog say thanks.
  16. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Install your CPU

    Attach PC speaker. Listen to beep sequence.

    Check manual for problem.

    No beeps. Dead board.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  17. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    everything starts up, the fans on it and the one for the prosseser, just nothing shows up
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    try plugging in your video cable into the one on your motherboard instead of the video card and see if you get video.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  19. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    Nothing is showing up on the monitor evening without the new video card in and everything is plugged in all the way.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  20. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
    the mobo is new
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  21. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    so let me get this straight, you plugged in your monitor into your motherboard, and removed your video card so its not inside your case and you still didn't get any video?

    do you have an onboard speaker or case speaker on or attached to your motherboard?
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Please go to your User CP and type in all the options for your system specs. I need to know what other hardware you are using in order to help you. Also, please be more descriptive in your posts to keep people from guessing. Thank you.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  23. Cooldog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    128 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    USA California
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    What power supply are you using? The user CP is located on the top bar just below where it says tech PowerUp! Forums. That's where you can fill out your specs.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  25. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    look up for my question..
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page