1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will you switch to Intel Core i7 ?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Nov 7, 2008.

?

Will you switch to Intel Core i7 ?

Poll closed Dec 16, 2008.
  1. Yes, this year

    519 vote(s)
    4.8%
  2. Yes, next year

    1,860 vote(s)
    17.4%
  3. No, I will stay with Core 2

    3,227 vote(s)
    30.1%
  4. AMD - Smarter Choice

    5,109 vote(s)
    47.7%
  1. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    I also read it effected the 64 bit OS more?
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,885 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,173
    yeah phenoms one required like 4 VMwares running at once in order to crash. the bad press was because that 0.1% of users got a 'fix' which crippled memory performance instead.
     
  3. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ

    Thank you for the clarification. :toast:
     
  4. CrissTM

    CrissTM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Core 2 in this moment is more than enuff for gaming and surfing :rockout:. The i7 is much to expansive for all the buggs that comes with it. After all i find no need in desktop for a i7;).
    So, Core i7 :slap: => :nutkick:
     
  5. merkk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Well i will be staying with my all AMD rig . I will just up grade to a new Phenom 2 (940) cpu in the next month . Later in 2009 i will up date my video card set.
     
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OH MAN sorry to here that ! :slap:
     
  7. Mark_Hardware

    Mark_Hardware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    273 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Az
    I'm staying Core 2. Intel has something else coming, so IMO i7 is dangerously close to a screw job.... But I got ragged on pretty hard before for saying I am using a Core 2, so idk...
     
  8. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Intel already has a TLB bug. Unless i7's and their motherboards get a whole lot cheaper, I am going AMD.
     
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    deerrr I switched already by mistake >.< lol I love it!
     
  10. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Which the problem was solved before release...I know its already been stated but there are always a multiple of bugs when these cpus are produced. The question is only if the bugs can be solved before retail production.
     
  11. GAR

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    90 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    WOW, surprised to see people still sayin AMD is a smarter choice LOL. I guess they dont care for performance. The extra $50 for Intel is worth it. If you are that cheap, you deserve a Athlon X2.
     
  12. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Please show me an i7 thats only 50 more than any AMD phenom out currently :laugh:
    But for me AMD does me fine, if you want i7 then go for it but not for me im afraid.
     
  13. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Yeah -- sorry I don't have $600 to spend on just a motherboard+CPU+RAM like you. :rolleyes:

    Where's this "extra $50?" :laugh:
     
  14. GAR

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    90 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Dont get me wrong, i LOVE AMD, but i go where performance is, and AMD is not offering much, I meant $50 more for a core 2 duo, AMD is not much cheaper, you can get an E2200 for $70, overclocks to 3ghz + and outperforms and AMD system comparable in price by far.
     
  15. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    No its a terrible waste of money..........


    Hang on :D
     
  16. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    670 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    rofl amd ftw!
     
  17. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    heh, staying AMD, it makes more sense, I have yet to see a chipset from intel or nvidia that really takes care of business. further more, I feel i7 just aint worth it, I got more important things to spend money on, like a decent monitor and gpu (ATI) to back whatever AMD processor I get.
     
  18. little New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Well ... a little 50% for AMD smarter choice. But where am I ?

    I understand that due to the price of DDR3 and X58 motherboards only a few people are interested in switching to core i7, but who can choose to switch to an AMD processor today ?

    If you take the example of Crysis, the Phenom X4 9950 is beaten by a "poor" E4500 (low res).
    Even on multithreaded applications the best Phenom does not match a Q6600, which costs a bit less.

    So people, tell me why are you voting AMD ?
    I still have an "old" Opteron 165 and I really enjoyed it. At that time AMD was ruling the world of CPU with their Athlon (s754 / s939)... but now, who would be fool enough to buy a Phenom instead of a good C2D or C2Q ?
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Ill say 1 thing, Crysis has a Hard time running on any machine so there is really no excuse to use that as a benchmark for systems when its poorly coded, also say that Intel is better at it because OMG it Plays 15FPS on a Intel at max Detail without Much Goin on in the Picture. Sorry if i Last Recall 30-60 FPS without a Spike of FPS Loss is the Ideal for any game and most actually run well above 30-60 without loss, where anything less than 30 is unbearable.
     
  20. little New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland

    I do agree that Crysis is not the most optimized game I ever seen..
    Even if today a Phenom is good enough to play at any game, it will struggle faster than a good C2D. But in my opinion the problem is not being "enough", it is the performance / price ratio. And in this matter the C2D & C2Q do have a clear advantage.
    Take a look at this test:
    http://www.matbe.com/articles/lire/1121/comparatif-de-100-processeurs/page9.php
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Btw What most people are looking at for AMD is Phenom 2, Athlon X4, and Kuma Core and Future X2 CPUs.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page