1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

win 7 rc upgrade to full ?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by fritoking, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    well i guess mybe i should have payed more attention, but im trying to upgrade from the rc to a full ultimate and it says i cant.. both 64 bit... am i sol and going to have to reformat and do a clean install?
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,647 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Yes.

    And it is probably for the best anyway. Never do an upgrade.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    man i hate to reinstall everything.....
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,767
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Such is life, It did say this on RC instructions, that it would require full re-install...
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
  6. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    sweeeeeeet:rockout:
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,767
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nice hack!
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,647 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Me too. I'd rather start fresh.
  10. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Me too, it just feels cleaner or some reason
  11. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    just finished it ..everything works as its supposed too.... thanks man
  12. Inioch

    Inioch New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Now there's a lot of talk about upgrades being bad, but with win 7, even a lot of tech magazines are saying there are no problems.

    Personally, I hate reinstalling. Thus I upgraded two comps from rc to full ultimate and one from Vista to full.
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,647 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    It always leads to worse performance than a clean install. Everything might work, but the install is dirty and usually runs slower compared to a clean install.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Very true. Its best, to all ways do a clean install whenever you do MOBO or CPU or upgrade of os.. Your all ways going to run into something, even if it's not now, via not a clean install.. Boom, you have a mishap.. OS thinks it's the system you had prior to the "upgrade/clone/changing of hardware"

    It's more of a hassle to not do it.. You never know when there is going to be a problem.. Need to back up.. well now you gotta reinstall... Now you gotta wait for it to get done, and hope you can finish where you started.


    I've all ways made sure to have a 8gb thumb drive with all updated drivers, system stuff I need. That way, install isn't so pita. It takes me about 4h to fully install Vista Ultimate 64bit..

    But, to each their own.. Glad you got it working.. Newtekie & I are "old school" for a reason ;)
  15. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,021 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Microsoft should put a program in windows where instead of doing a fresh reinstall because you might of upgraded ur computer hardware you can just run a application thats deletes all of the old files, registries and any other clutter that has information about ya old hardware reboot ya system then scan for the new hardware then WHOALLA!!! :D
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    You can achieve that by swapping out your current registry for a default one, placed there as a backup during original clean install.

    This will have the effect of wiping out all your programs, settings, profiles the lot and the computer will run like a brand new Windows install and speedy too. You may or may not run into problems with DLLs that have been replaced since that original install, however.

    What it will do is physically leave all the installed programs sitting uselessly in place and keep any data on the drive intact, which is good.

    I did it once years ago on XP while learing about recovering corrupted Windows installs and I'm sure that Vista & Win 7 have this too - google is your friend.

    Overall, I don't recommend you actually do this on your main system and if anything serious ever goes wrong with it, try a repair install, clean install or other fix, as appropriate.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page