1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

win server 2008 enterprise or win 7 professional?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Easy Rhino, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    i am hearing a lot about server 2008 and can get it for free since i am a student. i can also get win 7 pro for free. if you could download either one which would you choose? i can still play games and what not on server 2008, right?
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Depends. Win 7 Pro serves my home needs just fine. Server 08 is a bit more finicky with AV apps, and some disk utilities. It won't let them install. But if you need to set up a more complicated network than a standard home network, you may want to consider 2008.

    I prefer the ease of use of Win 7, tbh. Not to mention, 2008 R2 is the one based on Win 7, regular 2008 is still Vista based, if that matters to you.
  3. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I still haven't found a decent free AV for Win2008R2...
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    i'd go 7 professional.


    i run my HTPC off it, and have zero issues - whereas win server has some issues (such as the antivirus stated above)
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    thanks everyone. ill go with 7
  6. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    448 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    Im using rising antivirus free version with win2008 trial (waiting win7 ,did not want to spend for vista) .i seen it is populer at east (japan/china) but not much at west .I will not comment about protection until i install win7 with another av and do full system scan
  7. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Personally I use Windows 2008 standard on all my machines. Don't bother with Enterprise. Using 2008 saves you from disabling a lot of Vista crap, no issues with UAC, file sharing and whatnot.
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,406 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    does it perform well with games and whatnot?
  9. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    I had to buy 7 pro at student price, as my school isn't on MSDN AA, but was able to get 2008 r2 free from dreamsparkle. I already loaded 7 pro on the e7500 htpc. haven't messed with it. in a couple of minutes i'm going to put 2008 r2 on the q6600 (mostly a work machine).

    will update later
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I agree totally with what he said.
    It performs equally and sometimes I have found Server to perform "slightly" better.

    If it's free and you don't mind not running an AV or buying a Server license, then I would do Server personally, if anything else it's the :cool: factor.

    I actually have Server 2008 Standard R2.0 x64 on my main machine right now mainly to play around with it.

    I also just got my Win 7 Pro x64.

    After my new hard drives arrive maybe I'll install both to do direct comparisons, but I figure they will be very minor gaming performance wise.
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    I run W2K3 as a workstation.

    There ARE major issues trying to get an AV or defragmenter onto the machine. Why? Because the installers are often designed to block installation onto "server editions" of windows. Why? They want to charge you 5x the cost of a regular desktop version. Bah!

    Fortunately, there are workarounds, and some free software is not fussy about working on "server" editions, e.g. www.defraggler.com

    AV is more tricky. I like avast! But it insists on a server license at big dollar. A real problem since I run W2K3 on my netbook
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If you can get either free, can you get both free?
    Pull them both and then play. You can decide after you have checked them both out.

    If you can only get one, and you don't need the server stuff of enterprise, I would go for 7 Pro.
  13. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    7 is alot newer than 2008 aka vista ;)
    if its 2008 R2 aka 7 then meybe ;)
    with win 7 you get all those media futures, and stuff like h264 decoding and all
    btw most server oses are awful when it comes to compatibility with games
  14. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  15. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    i got 2008 r2 free, but haven't found where i can get 7 free.

    my update from the 2008 r2 install...

    went super smooth

    loaded network drivers for 780i sli (usually pita) gave decent graphics out of the box without 191.07. it played "wall e," 1080p pixelated, but played stutter free. loaded 191.07, and it played full res. don't have speakers so can't comment

    oh...it screams compared to xp x64. i don't game, but inventor runs smoother (heavy 3d solid modeling)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page