1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win Vista 64 crashes during games.. Software prob or PSU?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by bud951, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I have a AMD FX-60 with 2 gigs of Corsair pro series ram, 9800GTX running win vista 64. The pc runs fine except for games which crash several minutes in back to desktop saying the program has stopped working. I have a PCP&C SLI 510w PSU. Could this be the problem? Info is appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Normally, if the system was overheating or the PSU was screwed over, the PC would just shut off so it may not be those. But, if you can you can, try another PSU in the system and make sure all the heatsinks in the PC are on tight and correctly. Also see if reinstalling Windows helps and make sure you have updated drivers for your video card and what not. Plus, check ''Event viewer'' on the PC to see more about the errors happening.
     
  3. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I upgraded to the latest video driver and windows is also up to date. I have what I can only assume is the latest SB Audigy 4 drivers. I didn't think it was sound related since I have watched movies and whatnot without any issues. The problem is only with games once they are up and running for several minutes. I figured maybe the 510w just doesn't have enough juice to pump out.
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    You have enough power, are you overclocked, cpu, gpu?
    Does it give you any particular error?
     
    bud951 says thanks.
  5. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    As above, are you OCed?, if its a fairly high clock on both or just one that could be an issue.

    Should show rest of system specs.
     
    bud951 says thanks.
  6. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    The GPU is overclocked abit. I used the tool that came with the ASUS card. PC Specs:

    AMD FX-60, 2gb Corsair pro ram, 2x seagate 200gb Barracuda drives, SB Audigy4, ASUS 9800GTX dark knight edition. I will take the video card back to stock speeds and see if that works. I usually get video artifacts if its a video card overclocking issue. Maybe that's why it didn't catch my attention? Thanks for the input.
     
  7. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    My daughters computer use to do this. GPU was getting to hot and shutting down. I got her a 900 case cleaned up wires and turned fan up a little and problem went away.
     
    bud951 says thanks.
  8. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX

    I returned the gpu to default speeds which are overclocked anyway on the DN edition ASUS. 3D mark is running fine and I will push some games tomorrow. My main concern on this build was the PSU. I built this for my nephew from my previous computer hardware. The PCP&C 510 SLI was capable of handling two 6800 Ultra's in SLI on the same board which is a DFI NF4 SLI DR. I didn't see why it could not handle a single 9800GTX with the same hardware. Both 6 pin pcie power cables are connected to the GTX. I am running Win Vista 64bit so I thought maybe since the os was crashing it could be related to the 64bit Windows but all windows updates are installed. If anyone has any other suggestions. Please let me know. Thanks!
     
  9. bud951

    bud951 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Overclock on GPU only. I have now returned it to stock speeds. 3Dmark is ok but I need to test other games.

    When it crashes from games it goes to desktop with a window saying that the particular program I am currently running "has stopped working" asking me to report it to Microsoft and look for a solution.

    If this is just an overclocking issue with the GPU then everything is cool. I am just hoping its not a hardware issue.

    Thanks for the input and if anyone has any other thoughts, please let me know. Thanks again!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page