1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win32/Agent.ODG virus, please help!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by dan-9-2, May 31, 2009.

  1. dan-9-2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My pc has become infected with the Win32/Agent.ODG trojan and my nod32 cant get rid of it, it tells me its unable to clean the file and the virus itself is becoming a real nuisance.

    can someone please help me?

    dan
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2009
  2. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    637 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Romania
  3. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,271 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
  4. dan-9-2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is it safe to use combofix? it says it should not be used unless instructed by a trained helper etc and also the malwarebytes link does not work, ill google it tho
     
  5. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Based on the information on this webpage, if this happened to me I would download Knoppix, burn it to a CD, boot from it, right click the hard drive where Windows is installed and set it to be writable and then, still inside knoppix, manually delete every file the web page above mentions. Boot windows again and manually remove the registry entries.
    But you may want to try install other anti-virus (only keep one installed at a time, uninstall one before installing another).
    Also, and since this virus try to download stuff, the more time you have the computer on the worst, unconnect it from the internet and use other computer for "research".
     
  6. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    637 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Romania
    The link is good, it looks like your malware don't let you visit it. :(
    I've used Combofix many times (without installing Recovery Console) and every time I was fine, malware cleaned and PC still booting OK. :)
     
  7. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Like burebista said it's pretty safe to use it, the only problem should be if your current anti-virus blocks you from using combofix, this I cannot tell you for sure, you will have to try it yourself. If Nod32 detects combofix as a threat (and it's not) just unistall it, use combofix then install again (and update it right away).
    Oh and don't forget to enable the firewall after, some virus are tricky.
     
  8. dan-9-2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok thanks. i cant update my virus software tho because my pc wont connect to the updates, i assume my wireless is just a bad connection but it could be the virus
     
  9. dan-9-2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    giving combo fix a go now. should i post the log or anything afterwards?
     
  10. dan-9-2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think its gone....
    i havnt had any problems since combofix rebooted my pc. all the icons seem to be working fine and im trying to update my nod32 atm. my only concern is that combofix changed my desktop wallpaper to a greenish one is either a default thing or the virus having one final dig at me as it died lol.

    thanks all whov helped
     
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,683 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  12. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    637 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Romania
    Dan post your log here. You should find it in C:\ComboFix.txt.
    I told you that Combofix save my arse a couple of times. :D
     
  13. dan-9-2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    there ya go. thanks again!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    637 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Romania
    It looks like you're OK.
    BTW I saw Comodo Firewall there. Why don't you use full CIS? Or at least firewall and Defense+. With Comodo's D+ your malware should be blocked before it harms your PC.
    I'm a very happy CIS user. FW+AW+D+ works flawless here. Their AV isn't top notch right now (many false positives) but it's more than decent. Ah, and CIS suite is free. ;)
     
    dan-9-2 says thanks.
  15. dan-9-2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, ill have a look for CIS sumtime, but i think the virus has been there since before i got comodo. my avg was acting up for months and everything that was wrong has been fixed by combofix so hopefully comodo should be fine now
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page