1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 64-bit now used by majority of Steam owners

Discussion in 'Games' started by zootac, Apr 2, 2012.

?

Do you use 64 or 32

  1. win 32 bit

    3.6%
  2. win 64 bit

    97.1%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england
    Windows 7 64-bit now used by majority of Steam owners

    http://www.neowin.net/news/windows-7-64-bit-now-used-by-majority-of-steam-owners


    While many PC users have hardware and operating systems in their machines that are considered old or even obsolete, PC owners who use the Steam download service from Valve tend to stay more on the cutting edge of PC hardware and software development. Valve has given the option for Steam users to upload their hardware specs to the company to create a survey of their users.

    In the newly updated Steam survey results for March 2012, they show that for the first time, the 64-bit version of Windows 7 is now used by a slight majority of people who agreed to send information for the survey. The numbers for March show that 53.91 percent of Steam users have the 64-bit version of Windows 7 installed, a massive increase of 10.89 percent compared to February.

    This shows that, for PC gaming at least, gamers clearly want the 64-bit version of Windows 7 installed on their rigs. The 32-bit version of Windows XP is a distant second with 14.78 percent, followed by the 32-bit version of Windows 7 at 13.76 percent.

    Other parts of the survey show that 31.21 percent of Steam users have 5 GB or more RAM installed on their PC. 48.64 percent have two processor cores in their CPU but that 40.02 percent have four cores inside.
    Irish_PXzyan, Super XP and Mussels say thanks.
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Good.Let the 32 bit version be forgotten.
    syeef, Irish_PXzyan, Super XP and 4 others say thanks.
  3. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england
    I still use it for old p.c games lol
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    How old?
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,425 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    With 4GB+ of RAM you are basically forced to use 64bit so it kinda makes sense so many gamers use 64bit. I mean, 4GB RAM in PC is sort of standard these days.
    zootac says thanks.
  6. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    what pc games dont work with 64bit? :S iv never found one yet...
    have played games from 94/95-1999.
    zootac says thanks.
  7. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    It has been like that for a while now. I think I remember going through Steam's surveys in november and the majority already had Win7 64-bit.
    zootac says thanks.
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,425 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Older ones mostly. Pre 2000 era. If you're not much into DIY you can grab some pre-patched games on GoG. With some skill, you can make them work yourself. Or you can grab fan made patches like the ones i've done for Need for Speed 3 (Hot Pursuit) an 4 (High Stakes).
    I was also working on NFS2 and 5 and System Shock 2 but i've hit some severe issues and was unable to release the patches (yet).
    zootac says thanks.
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I probably show up in the results as both, and with multiple OSs.
    I use Win7 64 at home to play, and XP32 at work to download large games/files.
    zootac says thanks.
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,385 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    nice way to save eating into your bandwidth every month (though I thought most people would be with an ISP that gives them unlimited downloads or at least a very high DL cap rate)
    zootac says thanks.
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,887 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I haven't used a 32-bit OS in years. It can go the same way 16-bit went. :p
    zootac says thanks.
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I have satellite, FE. 7GB cap/mo and 512K DL.
    I should have fiber to the house soon, though.
    zootac says thanks.
  13. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    last 32 bit OS was XP in 2008 with my Q9450 build, as I shure wasn't going to get Vista :p I have had Win 7 64 bit since the RC, tho i bought a 32 bit version and just used the CD key with my neighbours 64 bit DVD.
    zootac says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    I usually use fan patches, use DOSBox myself, or get them from GoG for such games.
    zootac says thanks.
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,385 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    Ive been in a similar boat except my cap/mo was 5Gb :shadedshu:shadedshu and a DL that varied between almost 0-56k during the day and upto 5mb at night.

    I had been asking these tards if i could pay a one off fee to upgrade to 10Gb a month for ages but they said they couldnt because their system doesnt work that way so they couldnt....I was like fine...

    but when it came to the day i called them up to tell them I had decided to cancel the contract they were begging me not to leave, even going as far as offering 15GB a month for the same money i was paying for 5GB a month & a free laptop that was probably worth about £300 ($480) anyway.

    I had been with them the better part of two years, when i first joined, their speeds were fast but over the year(s) they just completely went down hill with slow speeds and network problems.

    when I asked them why they were bending over backwards to keep me - their response was that i was a VIP customer as i had always made my payments ontime and been very patient and polite with them when it came to dealing with them over the phone which I have had to do a few times.....

    Its amazing how I could go from just a number to VIP in a matter of seconds. but of course, the tards in the call center are paid to spew crap like that.

    I didnt need the laptop, I asked for him to set me up with a new mobilephone instead as i needed a new one but he couldnt do it as his department doesnt deal with the mobile phone side of a business. What a shame.... if he had given me 15Gb month and the new mobile phone, I most likely would have stayed.

    I also could have taken the laptop, sold it on and brought a new phone with the money but i just couldnt be arsed to go through all of it though it would have been the smarter thing to do.
    zootac says thanks.
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,425 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I don't have any cap so i'm a happy camper. Theoretically i can download 1MB every second, 60MB every minute, 3600MB in 1 hour, 86.400MB a day, that's 2.592.000MB a month.. Not bad eh? And i don't even have the fastest line, just a poor mans 8Mbit VDSL2. In most major cities they have cheaper 20/20 fiber optics. Bastards. I just like to brag even though i know i'm not the fastest :p
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,385 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    I dont have optics but I have a 20mb connection when it decides to run at full speed afaik theres no cap as i did 200GBs worth of downloads within the first two days of getting it and never suffered any connection throttling.
    zootac says thanks.
  18. Mega-Japan

    Mega-Japan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New York, NY
    I do my best to stay away from Steam unless required (in which case, I'd use a no-steam crack *coughskyrimcough*), but I would sure everyone would have moved to 64bits by now. Heck I expected MS to drop 32bit altogether with Win7 but... oh well. And iirc, Win8 will have a 32bit version as well. Maybe Win9 will finally drop the 32bit ball altogether?
    zootac says thanks.
  19. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england
    About 10 years up over old windows 2000/xp games
  20. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,354 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Old school!! nice. I have quite a few of my own in that era of games :D
    zootac says thanks.
  21. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england
    I by all the old games from e.bay can get some old classics on there i tend by up all the,
    Game bundles last lot i scored was 70+ old school games for 25 pounds
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,310 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,339
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I've been using Windows 64-bit since 2005.


    Windows 8 will have 32-bit because of tablets and ultrabooks. I believe Microsoft announced it will be the last 32-bit OS from Microsoft.
    zootac says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    It's nice to see 64bit adoption increase. But, the most important stat, in the long term, is that 48.64 % have systems with 2 cpu cores.... that tells you all you need to know about the state of the PC gaming/enthusiast market. Just over half of all Steam users are still on old systems using a cpu with one or two cores; that's millions of gamers, about 3 million or so.

    http://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey/cpus/
    zootac says thanks.
  24. zootac New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    124 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    england

    I fell left out the 64 bit circle now I,m only Guessing that most them gamers with low spec rigs,
    Are just people on a Budget rig or in some Third world Country.
  25. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    It's a world market now, for computers, computer components, and computer gaming. It doesn't matter where those people come from; it tells you what most game developers need to factor into their designs, and what hardware manufacturers need to produce for a world market.
    keling and zootac say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page