1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 BETA Problem/Bug Report

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Live OR Die, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    WINDOWS 7 Problem/Bug Report

    WINDOWS 7 Problem/Bug Report

    How to report Problems/Bugs to Microsoft goto Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Action Center under Maintenance Click Check for solutions
    Image

    [​IMG]

    Build 7600 RTM (Upto Date)
    and previous builds

    KNOWN BUGS
    •Game Shortcuts from game explorer disappear on desktop coming out of screen standby
    •The Device Properties quit button flickers when the mouse is left on it
    •Changing The Recycle Bin Icons Stops Desktop Refresh Only ICO Files
    If you add a comma and 0 (,0) in the registry after the icon file name they will switch back and forth without refresh, Go to here
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CLSID\{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}\DefaultIcon]
    after you have changed the Recycle Bin icons to your custom ones then add ,0 to Default,Empty and Full
    •Desktop icons disappear when monitor goes on sleep only some people have this problem
    •Desktop frozen coming out of sleep when taskbars on Auto-Hide


    Bugs on Build 7077 and Below

    KNOWN BUGS
    •BSOD when unplugging XBOX 360 controller
    •Lag and lock ups when burning and encoding

    Build 7077 Pre RC

    KNOWN BUGS
    •UT3 link in Game explorer not working

    Build 7057 Pre RC

    KNOWN BUGS
    •MediaPlayer 12 when minimized album art is up side down and back to front :shock:

    Build 7048 Beta

    KNOWN BUGS
    •DNS client has stopped working from installing Hamachi

    Build 7000 Beta

    KNOWN BUGS
    •MP3 Corruption-Hotfix can be downloaded though Windows update
    •Internet Explorer 8 Beta opening slow-when UAC is on with Hamachi network driver installed-Fix turn UAC off
    •Gadgets not working with UAC turn off - Know bug
    •when playing music in windows media player and installing some thing that has a heavy load your music skips
    •Unable to unpin some items from the start menu - Reset Pin To Start
    •Windows explorer stops responding and doesn't restart/can't close Windows explorer and stops windows from shutting down
    •Windows not shutting down or windows stuck on shutting down screen
    •Windows installer open countless time when installing some programs like itunes and then gets stuck on installing - Windows 7 Installer Fix
    •Windows update error-Wrong Time and Date

    Improvements
    •Windows doesn't always alerts you with the flashing taskbar icon when a windows open or is changed
    •Animate windows when minimizing and maximizing lag

    Missing Features In All Builds
    •Can't Customize Game links in Windows Game Explorer any more, Microsoft has removed this because no many people were using this feature so they replaced it with automatic game updates


    Program/Driver Incompatibility In All Builds
    •Most of Vista's drivers will work with windows 7 beta, but if your using vista's video drivers for ATI or Nvidia its best to use the drivers from windows 7 update, using vista video drivers may work for some games but for some they wont and can cause your PC to bsod
    •PunkBuster Does not work on every games on windows 7
    Fix with version
    Cod waw v2.176 | A1409


    Program/Driver Incompatibility In Builds up to 7048
    •UT3 and Fallout 3 will some times work then other time it will stop responding
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2009
  2. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    i get crackling/bad sound when 7.1 enabled, only through centre/rear speakers.
  3. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    I get random crashes in Counter Strike: Source, Songbird (when changing song) and also the desktop slideshow sometimes stops working and shows black instead of an image.
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    - Punkbuster does not support Windows 7, that means playing PB enabled games may kick you and give you error:

    They do not plan to update for compatability with 7 until it's hit retail release, there is a lot of noise about it and a petition or two, so we may luck out and get some support sooner than later!

    :toast:
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Also the task bar has the tendancy to disappear when installing stuff too.
  6. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    the thing that annoyed me about the display control panel id i have 2 crt screens and ones in the dvi and the other is in the vga and it wont let me set my dvi as my primary screen and another it took me 20 mins to set my desktop
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,930
    Why don't you submit your bugs to Microsoft? This is a beta afterall and I'm sure they would love the feedback. :confused:
  8. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    i will i just am going to make a big bug report first
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,349 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Not really a bug I suppose, but I would like the classic start menu option back. The win7 start menu is not bad, much better than vista's, but I can get around alot faster in the classic.
  10. paulm

    paulm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    441 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    United States
    For some reason, when I first virtualized/installed Windows 7, it worked fine....

    Now my network is "Unidentified", and I can't connect to the internet. Repairing it does nothing (says I have an invalid IP configuration, dunno why, I set it to automatically retrieve settings, which is what I have on my comp).

    Anyone have an idea?
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Were's the page to see if win7 is activated on win7? i cant find it :S
  12. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Start menu--> right click "Computer"-->Properties-->says activation status at bottom :)

    [​IMG]
    tigger says thanks.
  13. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    beat me to it and 1000th post for me
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Thanks,just activated it.
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    what driver are you using have you tried changing them


    have u tried using an other program to play your music to see if it still crashs?



    i run call of duty waw with no problems and that has pb in it, have u tried the PunkBuster Updater


    have you tried it on different drivers?

    i made this Thread to help people because alot of people have goin over to the beta and are using it as there only os.

    have u tried reinstalling your network driver? and are u using a driver from windows 7 setup
  16. cray86

    cray86 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    97 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Springfield, IL
    BSOD 0x...0124 on Windows 7 startup

    Happened during install initially, within 3 min of booting from DVD

    I installed the files through my XP install and restarted, BSOD.

    So I entered the setup through Safe Mode, which allowed it to install.

    Got Windows 7 running, still BSOD on startup. I tried Safe Mode, but setup won't let it advance unless its in regular mode (for activation and such) and I've disabled EVERYTHING in my BIOS that I can and it still gives a BSOD. Some unreconcileable hardware problem I guess.
  17. danerd100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Floppy drive

    Hi, I wanted to let you know this:

    If floppy drive is enabled in your bios, and you don't have a floppy, windows 7 installer hangs with just a mouse sitting there for a while, i don't even know if it will pass that part

    Simple solution, go into bios, and disable floppy drive
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    this sound like its looking for a driver thats not included in windows settup, have you tried unpluging every think and just leaving whats need to install?
  19. danerd100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I get BSOD as well

    after installing, i have gotten a different error each time, first is that windows setup could not configure windows to install on your hardware

    Second, was just a standard there is a problem error

    Third was BSOD

    All my specs are fine, i installing now in vmware
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,889 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    has any one had problem shuting down after coming out of sleep?
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Skype doesn't work at all

    When loading tpu up on IE explorer 8 with flash installed the page does not load correctly <- use firefox is the only fix
  22. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    i really want to like win7. when it runs correct, it is faster than xp on my laptop. very responsive and looks good too.

    problems i've had so far-

    1- windows media player wont work with any file i've tried. it loads up then cpu usage goes to 100% and stays there till i hard reset.

    2- if you drag a internet explorer window too far upwards the screen turns grey and cpu goes to 100% till hard reset.

    3- watching a video with vlc media player while falling asleep last night, i woke up to a frozen pc till hard reset.

    4- pc locked up while trying to get a windows expierience score. had to hard reset.

    i hope these small bugs i had get sorted out with a few updates. i really like the performance and look of win7.

    computer specs
    win7 32bit
    dell d600 laptop
    1.8 pentium m
    2gigs ddr ram
    radeon 9000 32bit (lol, but atleast its not integrated graphics)
    160gig hard drive
  23. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    o i am instating up dates and its been at 10 out of 30 for about a half an hour now
  24. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    The windows media player is problem is something to do with the network part of it,it was doing it on mine last night,so i am using gom player.
  25. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    10 outta 30 updates in 7? Wow I had 4 or 5 lol...all went quck and easy.

    I did have an issue yesterday, out of nowhere, IE8 b2 stopped showing webpages and said it was not connected to the net even though Opera and anything else worked fine. My G/F was trying to get her Neflix Instant Movie deal going while I'm building a diff rig, figured it'd be good to get her used to 7 sooner than later...it took resetting all defaults in IE multiple times and uninstalling and re-installing a couple of add-ons, and then came back to life...it was really odd.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page