1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows 7 bug

Discussion in 'General Software' started by redwings0921, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. redwings0921

    redwings0921 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    no programs will install! wtf. i have tried restarts and nothing has happened. is anyone else having this problem? 32-bit, and i have had progs install before
     
  2. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,480 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    What happens when you try to install stuff?
     
    redwings0921 says thanks.
  3. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Maybe a bad install of the OS this time around. Remember, despite this being released to the public it is still a beta so these things can pop up.
     
    redwings0921 says thanks.
  4. redwings0921

    redwings0921 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    well the install just ends and i get the non responding error, and i have installed stuff on this os before, the problem just started
     
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,480 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Maybe try system restore back to before the problem.
     
    redwings0921 says thanks.
  6. redwings0921

    redwings0921 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    will do. thanks
     
  7. meaintsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Happened to me, all you gotta do is send the error and they will tell you to do something after, I followed the instructions exactly and haven't had the problem since.
     
  8. redwings0921

    redwings0921 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    what was the email?
     
  9. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,698 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    727
    In any window click on the send Feedback link. Its next to the minimize, maximize and Close buttons. There is even a shortcut on the desktop for it.
     
    redwings0921 says thanks.
  10. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
  11. redwings0921

    redwings0921 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    thanks guy. it did some error reporting after a few attemps and within a few minutes a solution came up and it work
     
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    test your memory
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,998 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    in the future...right tick on the exe file and tell it to run in compatability mode (just under run as admin). it will ask what OS it worked on previously and auto search for a fix, then it will ask you to restart the install to verify if the settings W7 chooses are correct.
     
  14. redwings0921

    redwings0921 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    233 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    none of the exe's ever start if im not in compatibility mode. this problem was happening while i had that set
     
  15. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    there are a few programs that will break the windows installer one that did it to me was adobe reader but only on the 64 bit os the only way to fix it is system restore
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page