1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    Are you talking 32 bit or 64 bit drivers, I have found a lot of Vista 64 bit drivers work, Video drivers need to be Windows 7 drivers. I know Nvidia makes video driver s for most of their cards
  2. c0ldfyr3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just a small fix here...

    RTM = Release to Manufacturers; like Dell, HP, IBM, Falcon-nw , etc etc etc...
    Retail is what goes in store, however all the versions are the same. just released on different dates to give an advantage over sales.

    So far i am actually liking 7, minus the lack of WDDM 2.0/1 and span view support. Microsoft should fix this or gamers like myself will just go right back to XP or make a switch to Linux & CrossOver. i have 3 Monitors on one Rig and 2 on the other, and games just look better when its spanned across all three.
  3. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    You can add me to the list of Win 7 users. I've been using Windows 7 Pro for about a month now and I love it.
  4. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Has anyone been getting the random shutdowns from the RC1 version? I thought they weren't going to start them for a couple months.:confused: My comp has been restarting itself and asking me to insert boot disc? , but then I restart it myself and win7 loads right up. This happened twice in one hour.:(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,455 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    I thought the beta's were doing that until March 2010?
  6. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    were or weren't?

    I thought the 2 hour shutdowns didn't start till March and then expire in May of 2010. Maybe MS decided to cut it shout to get us RC users to go out and buy....God I hope there is nothing wrong with my rig.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Run cmd and then type "slmgr /dli" and check the status of the licence
  8. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Just moved from RCx64 to Prox64, pretty smooth transition and got my student pricing :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    As far as status all it says is that it is still Licenced. But now windows locks up all together, when I re-boot I only have a about 1 min before it freezes and I am forced to restart. All this just started several hours ago and I currently no overclocks right now. Everything is running at stable stocks speeds, It has to be the beta build freaking out.

    I am still saving up for the Pro 64bit, it wont be able to get it for at least a month.:(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I've been using Windows 7 since it was released as beta, and I must say I love it. My laptop and desktop are now currently running Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition. :) Why is my name not on this list?! haha :p
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    the OS wont do that. i'd suggest you've got a hardware problem for sure.
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  12. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    That's not good, Oh but it gets better...now my internet connection doesn't work on my other 2 crunchers. :mad: Now that the problem has escalated this is no longer the appropriate thread. I will take it else where.

    WIN 7 RULES!!!! :DWoooooooo!
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. sxyadii New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi,India
    I wanna join it..
  14. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,736
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Mass? I always thought it was " Release to Manufacturer" :p
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    I won a 10 user licenced copy of Windows 7 Ultimate (64) at a work party yesterday and purchased Win 7 Pro for my work machine. Windows 7 is def my fave MS OS since XP.

    I also used the RC till last night...so I suppose this qualifies me for the club?
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    its release to manufacturing, actually
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Add me please, as of tonight I'm using Win 7 Professional x64 (can't beat getting a $200 OS for $30, sometimes it's awesome to be a student). So far everything is amazing, I haven't had any issues with programs not installing or drivers not working. Windows 7 is really what Vista should have been, I can't see myself going back to XP except on older computers.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh Hi!

    I am having trouble installing the virtualization software (xp mode) for a x64 ultimate build.

    i am currently running all hardware at default settings (other than vt enabled ofcourse)
    and the microsoft hav detection tool reports that hardware virtualization is not enabled

    also i cant seem to get o&o diskimage to run properly (the program installs but does not start the service, services.msc does not list the service to enable it manually)

    Otherwize, Things are going rather well and I am enjoying my purchase..

    Please help if you have any suggestions regarding the VT and diskimage issues.

    Cheers,
    Craig0.
  19. Luke

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    I am running Windows 7 on my main rig and have plans to put it on my laptop soon

    I managed to get 2 licence from tafe for free

    So far it is great runs faster and smoother then vista and my LCD app for my G15 does not crash on start up any more.

    I have found one thing VMware vSphere Client (Use it to manage the ESXi server at my LAN's) will not run without a fix
    It will run but gets a error when you try and log in to a server but other then that i have had no other problems.
  20. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia
  21. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I am an Offical Windows 7 User, i bought the .edu verison of Home Premium for 30 dollars ;)
  22. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Its a great deal, I used it to get my copy of Win7Pro. Going to see if my brother wants to get in on the deal too :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    It only offered me Home Premium for some reason :\

    How did you get prO?
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    I just had something weird happen to my OS. I was just chatting along in Steam and the theme to my desktop went to basic. Like it was running the "Windows Experience Test" or something. Anyone else have this issue before?
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    yes.

    it runs winSAT.exe randomly, redoing the windows score.


    havent found out why it does it, or how to stop it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page