1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 - Explorer Has stopped Working - SHELL32.dll

Discussion in 'General Software' started by puma99dk|, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    i keep getting this message every time my Explorer has stopped working:

    [​IMG]


    i have tired countless time to replace explorer.exe and shell32.dll from Windows 7 Ultimate x86 with and out Service Pack 1, same result.

    Sometimes it comes when i exe timerviewer or some else does it.

    Anyone got a fix for this? bcs reinstall doesn't help it comes a week or two after a clean installation and it doesn't matter if i mod explorer, shell32 or uses windows2door.com's unblur for Windows 7 it comes even with stock theme or i change colour and wallpaper.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,796 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  3. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,127 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Try Sfc /scannow. You can run check disk too.

    Create restore point and locate the following registry key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SQMClient\ Windows\DisabledSessions

    In the right pane delete this subkey: MachineThrottling

    Reboot.
     
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    that MachineThrottling thing i think i will try Drone bcs "sfc / scannow" don't do much to fix that, i used it yesterday bcs i had some boot trouble after clonning my Windows 7 to my Samsung SSD drive from my Intel SSD.
     
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    well i don-t have a subkey called MachineThrottling in regedit so i dunno what the problem can be, bcs my Windows 7 Ultimate is fully updated.
     
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,584 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Looks to be a problem with shell32.dll, more than likely, a shell extension from some other program you are using.
    Look to your event manager in the administrative tools for clues.

    Replacing explorer.exe or the shell32.dll. will do nothing for the problem.
    You need to figure out which program has the incompatible or bad shell extension.
    Also, make sure your system/programs updates are up to date.
     
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    well i run the same versions and older on my dad's laptop 95Viper and i never had this problem on it :/

    but well i think i need to test that out, but it mostly comes when i close or another one closed their connection to my teamviewer.
     
  8. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,293 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    I think your ram is unstable.

    try different timings and see if you get same explorer issue.
     
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    natr0n even have it running stock settings, plus i don't get BSOD not even with prime95 running so if it was unstable memory i would get lockups, BSOD and more doing games and stress testing.
     
  10. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,293 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,584 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    if u want me to check in Event Viewer --> Windows Logs --> Application here is the error:

    Code:
    Faulting application name: explorer.exe, version: 6.1.7601.17567, time stamp: 0x4d6727a7
    Faulting module name: SHELL32.dll, version: 6.1.7601.17755, time stamp: 0x4f0412de
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000b4c80
    Faulting process id: 0xd5c
    Faulting application start time: 0x01cd4982623f13f4
    Faulting application path: C:\Windows\explorer.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\SHELL32.dll
    Report Id: 2f95e9ed-b633-11e1-91c5-5404a648ba12
    i got that yesterday.
     
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,638 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    My last build something similar (but explorer never actually crashed) and I ended up reinstalling the OS and doing a limited install (only installing drivers/software that's absolutely required). It fixed it but I still have no idea what specifically caused it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    well i run the same programs on my dad's lappy, using the same installation disc of Windows 7 Ultimate x86 and installed SP1 and fully updated it.

    but i have read several places and heard @ yt that sometimes it's just ur account that fails and if u make a new one the problem disappears :/

    i am like how can it fix it just by making a new account o_O

    bcs i will run the same programs and all so i really doubt that will help.
     
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    this here keeps bugging and bugging me bcs no matter what programs i have running or what i do, making a new account, reinstalling Windows 7 i still get it, it's annoying i srsly hope someone got a fix for me bcs i am going crazy here.

    i just logged out of teamviewer 20mins ago went home and i got my famous Windows Explorer has stopped working popup again can't Microsoft really not make a explorer.exe and shell32.dll that's almost un-crashable? o_O
     
  16. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,584 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    So, are you getting the "explorer has stopped working" crash before you add any programs, drivers, or updates?
    If so, then, I would suggest it is a hardware problem or a defective/corrupt Windows install media.

    Since you already are running other software and such you may want to try this for troubleshooting your install: How to troubleshoot a problem by performing a clean boot in Windows Vista or in Windows 7

    Or, you can try posting here (WinVistaSide Forum) and seeing if Andre.Ziegler @ Microsoft Answers forum (MagicAndre1981 - SuperMod @ WinVistaSide Forum) can help.
    From reading a good amount of his posts, over at microsoft answers, he seems to be really great at helping people create dump files and reading them to help fix those explorer crashes.
    Just an idea.
     
  17. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    Thx for that forum link to winvistaside.de but apparently i can get and activation email sent to my email plus i can't even change my email to a gmail.com or rocketmail.com email to see if that will work i just keep getting this:

    Code:
    Input error:
    Your preferred username is too short or too long (use at least 3 and at most 32 characters).
    
    Please enter your member name, to check for pending activation request. If it is present in the database, the e-mail will be resent to the application at the specified e-mail address.
    when i type in my username plus i can't even make a topic or p.m. a staff member in the forum and i even clicked on the email activation link i got the first time when i registered :confused:


    -Nevermind looks like and an admin or something took care of this for me ^^
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
    95Viper says thanks.
  18. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,584 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Glad the admin there got it to work and I hope they can help. :)
     
  19. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,619 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    i srsly hope that too. i didn't experice it with the Release Preview of Windows 8 but i couldn't stand i couldn't disable Metro UI so no Windows 8 for me atm and i don't like using a thirdparty Startorb either i hope Microsoft will but the original they had in the Developer Preview back i think Windows 8 will be a better hit than the Release Preview is ^^
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page