1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 found new hardware -EVERY- boot

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Sinzia, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    840 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Like the title says, every time I boot into Win7 Pro, x64 I hear 2 "found new hardware" sounds, but no popup notification in the task bar to see whats being found/installed.

    I looked in the logs to see what might be happening, but I haven't the foggiest idea what to look for or where.

    What I'd like to know is this: What hardware is being discovered -every- boot cycle, and how to fix it so that it doesn't keep happening.

    Thanks for the help in advance, folks!
     
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    If you go the Device Manager (Control Panel->System->Device Manager) does it show any devices with exclamation points or unknown devices? If so, those are probably the new ones.
     
    Sinzia says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    840 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Nope, everything seems to be normal, and started looking in logs.

    I also clicked on "show hidden devices" to be sure, everything's installed.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    My computer does this, in my case it is my logitech G510 keyboard. The USB audio card and LCD aren't initialized until I log into windows, so I get the USB Device connected sound twice when I log in.

    I'd start with plugged in USB devices. Try taking one out at a time and seeing if it goes away.
     
    [Ion] and Sinzia say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    840 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    That might be it then, I have a gen1 G15, I'll see if that happens next time.
     
  6. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    I have had this same problem with the same keyboard!! =P It would be a good guess that it is this..But i agree with "I'd start with plugged in USB devices. Try taking one out at a time and seeing if it goes away."


    :toast:
     
    Sinzia says thanks.
  7. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    840 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    After unplugging the G15v1 keyboard it went away. Seems that is the culprit, and I find it odd that it would be designed that way. Silly Logitech!
     
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,969 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,000
    Location:
    Oregon
    Mine does this too. I have a g500 and a Roswell mechanical keyboard but it did it with the MS keyboard also
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page