1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Image

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RoboX, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    do you know if I can create an image of Windows and the programs installed on a drive other than the one you are using? That is, do this from another windows 7 on another disk
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,296 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    Sasqui says thanks.
  3. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    Thanks...is it possible to created it from another drive, from another Windows 7?

    I startup in anorher windows 7, and I wont to creat an image not of this windows and programs, but an image of the windows, data and programs installed on another drive
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,296 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    boot the drive up, and start the image creation, and u can choose where u wanna put it.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,504 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Was going to post the same link :) It's an awesome feature in Win 7, recommend it after intstall and device driver install, and before installing software and external drivers.

    Hard to understand the question. You can save the image to another disk, then restore it using this proceedure:

    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/7702/restoring-windows-7-from-an-image-backup/
  6. RoboX

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    I need to backup the windows,data,programs (A) installed in the hard disk n.1

    I want to use the feature(restore windows image) of windows 7 installed in another drive (hard disk 2) , so of another windows 7 (B) started up.

    So, Can i startup windows B (installed on hard disk n.2) and use the feature to create an image of windows A (located on another drive, Hard Disk n.1)?
  7. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,148 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i use acronis true image
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,296 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    norton ghost is nice yes, last time i used Acronis from WD to move my Windows 7 to my SSD and i used Intels version to do the same at work.
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,148 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, Acronis is nice as well I've used it many times. You can't go wrong with either.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,504 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Good question... Dunno if Win 7 will think it's been installed on another PC because of a different HDD and ask to be activated...?
  12. Cybrnook

    Cybrnook

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    716 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    C:\Kitteh
    Acronis has the ability make an image of an install, then make it "Universal" so it can be installed on any new system, Hardware independent.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page