1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Issue - Can't install Windows 7 64bit Asus software/drivers

Discussion in 'General Software' started by fraya713, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I just installed Windows 7 64 bit. I go to the asus website and try to install anything from their Windows 7 64 bit category and I get the following error.

    [​IMG]


    Does anyone know what this is about? It doesn't make sense to me why none of this would work, if Asus labels it as Windows 7 64 bit software/drivers

    My motherboard is a P6T Deluxe v2
    http://usa.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=iRlP8RG9han6saZx&templete=2

    thanks for the help and let me know if you need any other information.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,350 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,631
    i'd be checking to make sure you're actually running 7 x64

    [​IMG]

    Notice how it states x64 lower down? check if yours is the same


    [​IMG]

    DXdiag also shows it
     
    fraya713 says thanks.
  3. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yep, 64 bit - shows in both dxdiag and system properties (either that or this is one hell of a 32 bit os that sees 12 gig of ram ;)
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,350 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,631
    name some of the stuff you're running


    AFUDOS sounds suspicously like a DOS based flashing tool to me...
     
    fraya713 says thanks.
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,414 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Well, that is a program that is supposed to be run in DOS mode...
    Darn Blue Cat beat me again!
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
    fraya713 says thanks.
  6. fraya713

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    320 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    hmm, appears to be user error on my part xD
    Doesn't Asus use a program utility to flash your bios without it being run in DOS mode? at least from my experience..
    So how do I go about running this program in DOS mode - darn this new fangled technology!
     
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,414 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Old tech is sometimes better. You wouldn't want windows to fart while you are flashing your bios.
    They might, but it ain't on the download page under utilites.

    EDIT: ASUS Update V7.17.06 Install Program for Windows 32/64bit XP & 32/64bit Vista & 32/64bit 7... it is in the windows 7 64 bit section under utilities, should do the trick per the manual.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
    fraya713 says thanks.
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,610 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,138
    there is a flashing tool in the bios;)
     
    fraya713 and 95Viper say thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,350 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,631
    ^ what he said.

    Plug in a USB flash drive with the BIOS file on it, turn on the PC, go into the BIOS - select the flash menu, and away you go.

    Its a feature i definitely miss since i moved from asus to DFI and gigabyte.
     
    fraya713 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page