1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows 7 mouse accel

Discussion in 'General Software' started by fish00, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I cannot get rid of windows 7 mouse accel for the life of me. And i play counter strike source on a competitive level so i kind of need to get rid of it. I dont really want to go back to xp.

    i am using win 7 ultimate 64bit

    I have tries the cheese and the markc mouse fixes.
    I have unchecked the enhance mouse thing
    I have tried my steelsereies xai driver option for mouse accel
    I even tried plugging in my mx518 and installing those drivers and turning off mouse accel with that as well.

    Nothing i have tried works

    Is their any real 100% way to get rid of mouse accelt with win 7?
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    MarkC Windows 7 Mouse Acceleration Fix

    MarkC Windows 7 Mouse Acceleration Fix works for me just fine. But we need to understand what you are trying to do here. For me, I wanted to remove the acceleration that happens when I move the mouse at certain speeds. I want the mouse to remain consistent regardless of how fast or slow I move the mouse. Is this what you are trying to achieve or are you experiencing some other issue?
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  3. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    well what im talking about is, when u move the mouse faster your cursor goes further.

    Like i will put my mouse at one side of the pad and do a full slow swipe and it will go a certain distance in a game or w/e. Then i will put it back to the side of the pad and do a full swipe but a lot faster this time and it will go alot further.

    I do not want that to happen. And i have tried that Markc fix and it did not work.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Unchecking Enhance Pointer Precision does exactly that for me.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  5. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    it dont work for me:(

    i dont get it. Its rly making me mad lol
  6. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I've never had the mouse go further then where I moved it. Yes, it does go faster which is the acceleration part. I'm beginning to wonder if you are experience some sort of lag issue. If you tried the MarkC fix did you also try using his mouse movement recorder? If so what were the results? Unless someone else has any other suggestions?
  7. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i kinda messed around with the recorder but didnt know what i was looking for. Tell me what i have to look for and i can report back.

    Also keep in mind when i was using windows xp just a few days ago this was not an issue
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    When you use the recorder do you see any colors as you move the mouse?
  9. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i do not see any colors except when i try to move my cursor off my screen. Then it turns green. But when im moving my cursor where i can see on my desktop there are no colors
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    What is the general range for Hz when moving the mouse fast?

    Hmm, I recall something about changing "Ease of Access" then "Make Mouse easier to use" then select "Setup Mouse keys" but I don't recall what though.
  11. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    anywhere between like 1000-1070

    I have the steelseries xai and in the drivers u can set it up to 1000. dont know how its going higher then that though
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    The only other thing is "Ease of Access" then "Make Mouse easier to use" then select "Setup Mouse keys". From what I recall you set Top speed slider close to High and Acceleration close to Fast. But it's my understanding that's for using the keypad as a mouse. Unless it's integrated with the mouse when enabled?? I would hate to think that's true. By default it should be disabled with "Turn on Mouse Keys" unchecked.
  13. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i have actually tried that :(
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Both High and Fast? I think you have to have enhanced pointer precision enabled
  15. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yeah i have tried it
  16. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Even I don't need to do that and it works fine for me. Apparently something gone screwy on your end. I take it you also disabled accel and parms from CSS?
  17. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yup
  18. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    create another account on your Operating system and test from that account...I believe something in your computer profile is corrupt or so hidden you cant find it.
  19. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hmm thx for the input. I will deff try that in a bit and ill report back with my results
  20. fish00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    the making another user account did not work

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page