1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows 7 not installing HELP FAST!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My friends computer wouldnt boot up it would say that it is missing bootmgr and then just restart and not go into windows. so we decided to try a fresh install of windows but when it gets to the point of it completeing windows 7 installation it would shut down and when id turn it back on it would say windows could not finish installing because of an unexpected error? Does my friend have a dead motherboard or dead hard drive or both??
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    happened to me. have a new mobo now and it's going well. BUT my hdd also died. so it could be either. i may suggest trying installing it on another, el cheapo hdd?
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    what do you mean on another drive??
     
  4. mcloughj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    307 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    it's not a bad motherboard. sounds like a problem with your HDD controller. Did you do soemthing mad like install using IDE mode and then change to ACHI mode?
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    nope
     
  6. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    i would try a new hdd if you got a spare and see if that works
     
  7. mcloughj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    307 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    ok then. how far does it boot into windows after the install? do you get to the little animation of the windows logo?
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    it doesnt get through the windows install. after it installs the features and all that right before the completing windows installation sequence it restarts like normal and goes back and continues installing but then it stops and turns off
     
  9. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I had that exact issue and had to completely wipe the HDD ...I was trying to keep files that I had Downloaded but for some reason Win7 would not install with them on the drive So I copied the files to another PC.....Also once I got Win7 installed and went to put the files onto the PC with Win7 I could not open them...Well not all of them..I suspect some type of DRM

    Oh yeah.. I was getting a bootmgr issue as well
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah well i cant even install windows. even when i do format and install. it wont work. just shuts down when its trying to complete the windows installation. and says their was an error. and Ive already tried twice. same thing!
     
  11. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    If you chose ACHI in the BIOS try IDE
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    i dont even think i can choose that in the bios. its a Compaq Desktop
     
  13. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Did you delete the restore Partition on the drive
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well their were 3 partitions. not sure which one to delete? should i jsut delete both and keep one big partition??
     
  15. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Not sure if this is the right thing to do BUT
    When I rebuilt my sisters PC which was an HP I had to delete all partitions to make one big drive then install Win7 and then after it was installed create the partition for a restore drive..

    and yeah I kept getting a bootmgr issue with her pc until I resized the drive
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well do they even need any partition other then just the one big main one??
     
  17. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    no....not really It was put on there for easy reinstall of OEM OS
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    k then im just going to get rid of it.
     
  19. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    ok keep us up to date on your progress
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    okay spo im to the page where it lists all the hard drive stuff/partitions and i clicked the ones that werent labels as system and hit Delete. but they didnt go away now they are known as unallocated space. how do you put those 2 partition into the main system one? do i do like extend or something??

    or do i delete Partition one which is labeled as System

    should the one im installing windows on be labelled as unallocated??
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  21. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    extend the primary partition to the size of the entire drive
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well deleting all the partitions didnt work. something is wrong. they may try and take the system back get a refund and have me build them a system
     
  23. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    What model did they get
     
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  25. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Do you have a Dock to check the HDD on another PC?
    If you can put the drive in another pc then go to Computer>Select drive with right click>Format> and Restore drive defaults sometimes that will help
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page