1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows 7 question

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Bow, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,277 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    839
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Do i have to reinstall windows after a mother board swap?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,243 (10.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,881
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    95% of the time... NOPE :)
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    547 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    If you're going from AMD to Intel, or vice versa, then yes. Otherwise probably no, but if you notice any issues then you should probably re-install Windows.

    I always re-install Windows when I switch mobo's, just to be on the safe side.
    Bow says thanks.
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,609 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    If you are lazy or dont have the time for it and you dont have any trouble afterwards then no.
    Bow says thanks.
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,243 (10.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,881
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I am sorry but this is wrong. I have used the same install of windows on over 20 machines AMD and Intel without a Reinstall. Unless there is something major that windows 7 just absolutely does not like then you should be fine.
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    547 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I'm just going off of personal experience. I haven't done too many switches so maybe that's why, but I moved from Intel to AMD once and had a couple issues with it (stability, 2 USB ports wouldn't work). Reinstalling Windows fixed those issues for me.
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
    Bow says thanks.
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,243 (10.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,881
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea windows 7 is good about moving over platforms and such but does from time to time hate certain changes.

    A good measure is to do this

    FIRST: Uninstall all known drivers (Lan, chipset, video, sound, and EXC)
    SECOND: use CCleaner to clean the registery and also your program files while your at it.
    THIRD: Delete folders that held the old drivers and their temp install folder.

    FINALLY: Swap your motherboard.

    I always make an image of my OS drive once a month just incase of errors in deleting programs or installs
    Norton and Bow say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    547 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Ok cool. Like I said not so much experience doing this, at least now I have a guide for future use haha.
  9. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,277 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    839
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Yep, same here.
    Thanks guys
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page