1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 SKUs Made Official

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Starter will not go retail, jesus.. How many of you have seen XP starter or Vista starter? I do agree on the home and pro tho. If I was in charge I would do it like this
    * Windows 7 Basic - 50$ - It's Windows 7.. no special BS. Best for a gamer and basic user
    * Windows 7 Premium - 90$ - Aero and other features no one else uses
    * Windows 7 Ultimate - 150$ - adds +10 to your e-peen, most likely to be the most pirated version
    Also I would make it 64bit only. I don't know why they made a x86 version honestly!
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  2. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    They make it 32 bit \ 64 bit cause of loads of people still have hardware for 32 bit, that dosent have 64 bit drivers.

    And why is it, that most people that complaining that win7 ultimate is gonna be expensive, have big computers and stuff? Here in denmark a vista ultimate oem licens costs about the same as a ati 4850 does - You cant use your computer without either one of em. Sure, i can find a cheaper os or go linux\freeware. But i could also just get a gfx card from a friend.

    If you cant afford it, you dont need it.
     
    Scrizz says thanks.
  3. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    i think some of you don't get that: Starter isn't avaiable in the USA, EU, Australia,...

    it's for India, Bangladesh, Somalia, Brazil,...
     
  4. blueskynis

    blueskynis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    Poor they....
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    magma: have you lost your mind?

    XP had home, pro, MCE, corporate (Volume version of pro), x64 and server 2003. They were all the XP flavours.

    To most users, thats all there is here. Its not like you'll ever see anything on shelves thats not home premium or ultimate - the rest arent available to the average consumer.
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,531 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Ill get professional jsut for the sheer fact of remote desktop.
     
  7. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    950 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    they should make all versions 64 bit only....
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    except for the starter edition, i completely agree. there is no reason to have two versions - nearly every CPU these days has 64 bit support. Perhaps they left 32 for the netbooks, does atom do x64?
     
  9. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    the reason why is very simple:

    15% of the companies that buy windows relay on Athlon XP and Pentium 4 cpus that aren't 64bit capable. if M$ wouldn't make 32bit windowses the companies would swich to linux or stay on their current windows and M$ would losse a lot of money.
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,747 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,676
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Starter Edition is more of a move to encourage buying a genuine copy, for those who don't understand piracy. System integrators simply install a pirated OS and buyers don't realise that. Those who end up using Starter Edition don't quite feel limited by the restrictions it has.
     
  11. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Although I'd like Ultimate just because it's got it all, I'll probably get Home Premium 64bit, upgrade at that, if they still do it and if I'm able to upgrade from XP MCE 2005. I hope I can because it costs less :D
     
  12. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Too many SKUs. Two would be perfect. One for the business world/servers/power users and one for home users. I guess a much cheaper version of the home version would be okay as well. So I would consider that like 2.5 versions of windows 7. However, 6 versions is just way to many.

    Anyways, I am yet to be impressed with windows 7. It does really offer anything that Vista doesn't have and the small performance gain isn't worth going out and dropping $200 for it. Hate the new GUI too, please bring back Aero. I have Vista Home Premium on my Desktop and Laptop and I have zero problems or complaints. Can't wait for Vista SP2!
     
  13. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Whats the difference between these?:confused::

    Windows 7 Home Premium
    Windows 7 Professional
    Windows 7 Enterprise
    Windows 7 Ultimate

    Why are they different? what makes them different?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2009
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    FFS MS, I was really hoping they were going to thin out Windows SKU's this time. I dont want Media centre, but I do want aero. So now like Vista Im stuck with buying Home Premium, when Basic has all the features I want.
    IMO, it should have been:

    Windows 7 Home - Aero Glass, Aero Background, Windows Touch, Home Group creation, DVD playback and authoring, premium games

    Windows 7 Professional - Domain join, Remote Desktop host, location aware printing, EFS, Mobility Center, Presentation Mode, Offline Folders, BitLocker, BitLocker To Go, AppLocker, Direct Access, Branche Cache, MUI language packs, boot from VHD

    Windows 7 Ultimate - Everything including Media Center.

    Either that or Media center should be available as an add-on to Windows, like you used to be able to get Windows Plus!

    /just my 2p.
     
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'm interested in 64bit Basic - I don't care for Aero or any of that gubbins. I won't need touch screen/tablet capabilities. Remote Desktop I'll use a preferred 3rd party app. Don't need Media Center - but I would want a decent codec pack installed by default so different media types work straight out the box.

    Networking wise, I wouldn't want that to be hindered, simplified but not cut down & limited.

    Security (UAC can get ******!) I like how Security Center is, but once I've disabled what I don't need due to using my preferred programs I wouldn't want a constant freaking reminder that Security Center has been disabled.

    Instead of adding in useless crap the average user doesn't need, they should work on making a gaming edition. Actually that'd suck they'd fill it full of Windows Live bs.
     
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Windows 7 Ultimate sure
     
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    From what I have just read, only the Home Premium and Professional will be widely availble to the public. Ultimate will be limited and I'm pretty sure the same goes for Basic too.

    I just hope they get pricing right.
     
  18. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    If the pricing here with software is anything to go by my guess would be about double what ther states pays. =/
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    go by previous OS prices.

    XP home was $110 Au and XP pro was $200 when i last looked at prices (this was back before vista) so you'd assume approx $150 for home basic and $250 (max) for home premium

    (in $au)

    ultimate will be ridiculously expensive, but hell, 90% of the people using that have it cracked or pirated anyway.
     
  20. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    I actually thought ms would of learnt there Lesson from Vista and had just Home premium and Professional but no give us six flavours and keep the confusion going.
     
  21. Mega-Japan

    Mega-Japan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New York, NY
    x64 and Server 2003 doesn't count as versions of XP. x64 was just an alternative to processors with 64-bit capabilities, just like MS is going to release W7 in both x86 and 64 versions as well. Server versions are a totally different thing, W7 won't be replacing Server 2008 once it's released. As for MCE, it was just an special edition added later on with "up-to-date" features and a different skin, that's all it was really.

    So it was just Home and Professional Editions, Corporate being a volume license of Pro just like you just said.

    These seem like the most reasonable way to go. Fine, perhaps just Home, Pro and Business. Enterprise being a volume license of Business, but Home Basic, and Ultimate are certainly not needed when all "significant" features in Ultimate can go right into Pro.
     
  22. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    i did buy it. a 1 year ago for 360eur. retail box/Fpp.
     
  23. Mega-Japan

    Mega-Japan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    New York, NY
    If I had the extra money to throw out the window, I'm sure I would too.
     
  24. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,442 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    644
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I like the move back to "Professional".

    If you, like me, were using XP Pro in your home (for features that differentiate it from XP Home), then you basically had to choose from Vista Business or Ultimate. Business lacked some Home Premium features and Ultimate gets pricey when you have to buy for multiple machines.

    I'll take a 3-pack of Win 7 Pro!
     
  25. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,531 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Home Premium really did need remote desktop. Had I known it didnt have it, i would have spent the extra money for the business edition.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page