1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

windows 7 sleep cpu usage

Discussion in 'General Software' started by boogerlad, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. boogerlad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Hey, I'm having a little problem with windows' sleep feature. It sleeps after 30minutes, and I know I can change it in the control panel. Is there a way to make it sleep 30minutes after it cpu load drops to 0%? I'm rendering, and it's really annoying to leave it overnight, just to find out it did next to nothing because it fell asleep.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,225 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,527
    no, i dont believe there is such a way.

    You can do it manually, you can set sleep mode to a time (4 hours or something after the render should have finished)

    The only way to make it do what you want, would be to ask the maker of the rendering program to add a feature to sleep the machine when done.
     
  3. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    Polaris573, boogerlad and Mussels say thanks.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,225 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,527
    oooooooh
     
  5. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    its pretty good, i mainly use it on my server machine so i don't have to give a reason for shutdown/restart.
     
  6. boogerlad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    thanks!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 0 (0 members and 0 guests)

Share This Page