1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit crashing on installation

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by sonnytiger, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    So i have Windows 7 Professional 32bit installed and I wanted windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. It boots from the disk just fine, its just after you press the first button (i thing its callled install now or something) after a few seconds, it bluescreens and i have to restart. System specs are listed and i know my processoror is 64bit, any ideas?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,792 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,171
    Are you loading the disc in Windows or booting it from the bios? You will have to boot from the bios, delete the old partiton on your hard drive, and install. Be sure to save your files first to a USB stick or something.
     
  3. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    I am booting it from the bios, it goes throgh the "press any key to bood from CD/DVD, then windows installation loads some files, then i have to click the install now button and a few seconds later it crashes
     
  4. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    hmmm... try setting CPU back to stock clocks and see if that helps
     
  5. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    I had the same exact problem when I went to Win7 64. Clear your bios first off. Any bad scratches on the disk?
     
  6. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    First, Open your BIOS

    second, set all setting to default (except boot priority)

    third, turn off your HDD "S.M.A.R.T." capability

    fourth, make sure Windows 7 DVD doesn't have any scratch on it.

    fifth, try to Install your Windows 7 64bit againt.

    if that's not working, post here, or best way to solve this problem, just take picture of your BSOD (with camera) and post here so we can analyze BSOD Code. :)
     
  7. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    do you have a 4GB usb pendrive at hand? If you do, get the program from Novicorp that allows you to make a bootable usb drive and try installing windows from it (this will rule out the disc being bad)
     
  8. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    it was a freshly burnt disk (msdn) and there were no scratches on it, also i will try setting everything to default, it doesn't make sence though because windows 7 Professional 32bit installed just fine a day earlier so...
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,679
    have you tried without your overclock? x64 uses more of your CPU, so your OC may need to be lower to remain stable.

    Are you installing to an IDE or SATA drive, if its SATA is it in IDE compatibility, RAID, or AHCI mode?
     
  10. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    If your second disk also doesn't work, try redownloading. I've had corrupted downloads on Win7 installs before.
     
  11. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    its in IDE compatibility Mode, it may be a faulty download. Besides the memory options gain, is there really any other benifit to upgrading to 64 bit. My past experiences with XP showed me there is horrible compatibilty with 32bit programs on a 64bit OS.
     
  12. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I've run both XP x64 and 7 x64 now, and have had no issue whatsoever with 32-bit progs since 7.
     
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Mussell's nails it - I ruined two of my Sammy's SMART statuses trying to install Ultimate 64bit with AHCI enabled and not having the correct (AHCI) drivers on my pen drive which I install Windows 7 from.

    Kyle2020 made a great guide on how to do it manually as well but modder has linked to the tool to save you doing it manually.
     
    modder says thanks.
  14. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    Kay, ill try disabling things in my bios before trying to install off of a pen drive, i think it may very well be the overclocking that did it. Anyone care to give me a list of things i should disable?
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,373 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,679
    use AHCI mode. IDE compatibility mode isnt as compatible as it once was - the system may be trying to install AHCI drivers, not realizing its in IDE mode
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page