1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Ultimate - fresh install problem

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RandelA, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    how exactly do I reset bios on a laptop? I only know how on a desktop :D
     
  2. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    reset all defaults in the bios options screen
     
  3. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    is "Load Default Settings" in bios exit menu the same with removing the cmos battery? because load default settings didn't work, and now I am trying to reset bios using the cmos, then installing windows 7.

    edit: neither way worked. I will now try win7 usb dvd and installing on a uefi :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013
  4. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    I tried the uefi install, it didn't work. Now I am changing it to IDE and then installing the uefi.

    Also, whats this?
    "Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:
    1. Insert your windows installation disc and restart your computer.
    2. Choose your language settings, the click next.
    3. Clik "Repair your computer"

    If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer manufacturer for assistance.

    File: windows\system32\boot\winload.efi
    Status: 0xc000000f
    Info: the selected entry could not be loaded because the application is missing or corrupt."

    Also, I could not locate "Boot\EFI" destination in "sources\install.wim" so I used the EFI on the 2 folder, instead of 1. There are also other folders up to six.

    I am guessing the numbers represent x64 and x86?
     
  5. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    when you install windows there is a partition manager on the install screen in advance install on that partition manager click on advance then delete all partitions then make a new partition format it should automatically make a second partition about 100 mags in size. if it does your good install on larger partition. you need that little partition for windows to use as boot
     
  6. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    The tutorial said It should automatically make 3 partitions when I click "new" and "apply" in the advanced menu
     
  7. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    must be different for a laptop i only have a desktop
     
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Are you sure your installation media is not corrupt?
     
  9. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,907 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Have you tried a different version of Windows or Linux?
     
  10. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    I downloaded my copy of windows 7 on my institute's MS Dreamspark using my account (it's free) and the UEFI Install didn't work. (I did everything in the instructions).

    Yes, I have tried the new Windows 8 Pro, still from dreamspark. Did the instructions on how to install windows 7/8 on a uefi laptop, and everything worked! Idk why, it's so strange.
     
  11. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    hmm i have been using this since it was available and i haven't experienced any trouble on desktop and laptop pc's.

    English x86: X17-59463.iso
    English x64: X17-59465.iso

    it's including SP1 and it's the U version...

    The latest version of Windows 7 DVD image available is of media refresh version, which commonly known as Windows 7 SP1-U (Media Refresh). Microsoft released the media refresh version of Windows 7 DVD media to fix a rare bug related to invalid computer name when small set of computer names returned error when used to install Windows 7. Otherwise, the Windows 7 with SP1 and Windows 7 with SP1-U (Media Refresh) is completely the same.
     
    RandelA says thanks.
  12. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If the Windows 7 copy is not corrupt.
    Could be Windows 8, being newer, has something (device driver?) that Windows 7 doesn't have on the install (iso) file.

    So, I am guessing you are going to be running Windows 8?
     
    RandelA says thanks.
  13. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,495 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    if that is true, u can always put the driver on the usb aswell and load it, or integrate it which will be too much of a hassle....
     
    RandelA says thanks.
  14. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    that is just wierd...,but since it work on w8 ur good to go..:)
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,896 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It would be nice to confirm that your hard drive isn't failing. Normally I recommend booting up an Ubuntu live cd. Open up a terminal and run:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install smartmontools
    sudo smartctl -a /dev/sda
    Then post us the output of the smartctl command. I'm assuming the laptop has one hard drive.
     
  16. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    I don't know if my copy is corrupt, because it installs on my desktop and not on my laptop, so maybe it's a driver problem! I recently installed AHCI driver on my windows 8 (yep, windows 8 for now I think.). I will try it again when I get my work done this week :)

    Yes it is.. and windows 8 is also good looking, and it appears to be faster than windows 7. I might stick with windows 8 for now! :D

    Yup, my hard drive isn't the one failing.:toast:
    I will let you know about the result of the code when I get my work done this week :)
    Thanks!!
     
  17. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I don't know how to help you here but in my BIOS I have a Windows 8 configuration setting that must be disabled to use WIN7....Do you have someting like that in your BIOS?
    [​IMG]
     
  18. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    No, I am afraid I don't have that:/ but that's a nice looking bios.. I think that's essential with newer motherboards huh? :)
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  19. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    Install UEFI-ied setup to a normal PC

    Hello again guys. I had my Windows 8 made compatible with UEFI Bios, and it worked (yes!) but here is my question, would the UEFI-ied (that's what I would like to call it) Windows setup install on a non-UEFI pc?
     
  20. RandelA

    RandelA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Pateros, PH
    bump
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page